We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE- FRIENDLY FACES” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Lexington
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE- FRIENDLY FACES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have always had good success with the Holiday Inn Express properties & this one was no different.
Traveling with my son for a baseball tournament we were happy with the King Suite which also included a fridge, microwave & sink.
Room was clean & comfortable with a nice flat screen tv with all the major cable channels.

You also get the free breakfast which is what you expect.....Although always enjoy the pancake assembly machine.

I don't write a ton of reviews but like to give props when deserved & the front desk staff was some of the nicest I have ever met.
They were always friendly & helpful...even helping me do laundry (which is another story).

The location was central to UK & walking distance to the Red Mile...
If ever back in Lexington would not hesitate to stay....

A few negatives would be...parking lot becomes filled quickly especially on weekends, the hallways were extremely HOT & one day we returned to our room around 4pm & the room had yet to be cleaned. This only happened on 1 day out of the 3 we stayed.

I give it 4 out of 5 but truly a 4+

Room Tip: Think the King Suite is the way to go........
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for all your comments. We are working towards excellent service and ensuring we meet all your needs and those things you mentioned were negatives does help us know where to focus our efforts. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Barbara Jean Beighle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    45
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
46
20
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wow, this is what i'm talking about. Great location for UK school activities. Our stay was only one night but we will be back. This place is clean, the staff is very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was delicious. I have never slept better. I love the mattresses!!! I am an IHG Platinum member and received a free upgrade. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you

Room Tip: We was upgraded to a suite. Three separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
THANK YOU for being an IHG Reward Platinum member. You definitely travel a lot and we appreciate the time you took to acknowledge our team and our hotel. Look forward to having you stay again.

Barbara Jean Beighle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was large for a hotel. We were checked in my Ken (I think), and he was very nice. There is an indoor pool and hot tub as well. The breakfast was very good- lots of choices, very clean, and well-stocked.
Although we did not tour U of KY, it was very close to Rupp Arena. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for acknowledging Ken and glad you enjoyed your room and our location. We do hope you do return and get a chance to tour the University of Kentucky. There is lots to see.

Barbara Jean Beighle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I am IHG platinum. I called the day before and requested a complimentary upgrade to a suite with microwave and fridge [not all rooms have them]. Monica answered phone and said she would make it happen. She had a quiet suite in front ready for me at check-in. She offered me the 500 points at check-in without being prompted. I appreciate Monica’s excellent service and complimentary upgrade very much. Kudos to her. Holiday Inn Express is very lucky to have an employee so dedicated to customer service. There is a Jets pizza place across the street. No grocery store nearby but a Save-A-Lot on US-60 BUSINESS

Room Tip: For quiet room, choose highest floor facing Export street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for recognizing Monica and glad she delivered on your expectations. We do hope you continue to stay with us as you travel into Lexington and appreciate your business.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice location in Downtown Lexington, near Hospitals and University of Kentucky Campus.

Has a nice complimentary breakfast. We were there during the Rolex Equistrian Championship at the Kentucky Horse Park. Hotel was packed but everything was great

Room Tip: No in hotel Restaurant but lots close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and yes, that was a very busy weekend for the city. Glad we were able to accommodate you this visit and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were in town for the Taste of the Bluegrass and needed some place to bunk down that was convenient to our children's homes. We had seen the Holiday Inn Express, but we not confident about the location (close to UK campus made us suspicious!). We had a delightful stay. The room was clean and the noise level was not what we expected (perhaps if we had expected silence, we would have been disappointed?!?!) As for breakfast . . . well, I suppose that one can get excited over a free breakfast, but I've definitely had better. It wasn't bad, but the other rave reviews over a fast food breakfast are really over the top. Could you put some instant hot chocolate out with the tea???

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for honest feedback and glad to know you felt we were just a cut above the brand standards. We appreciate your suggestion on hot chocolate being available as we do track guests preferences to help the chain on new additions that should be added based on guest's requests. We hope you visit us the next time you are in Lexington.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We were coming to Lexington to meet my daughter's favorite book character, Junie B. Jones, at the Joseph-Beth Bookstore. After comparing many hotels, I decided on this Holiday Inn. As I was wanting, the hotel was in a great location to the surroundings, it was clean and well kept, beds and pillows comfortable, shower great, breakfast was good, and the front desk (day and night) were very helpful. The day front desk lady recommended and gave directions to things/places that my daughters would like, which helped a lot.
There were a just a few things that bothered us. First, our room didn't have a small fridge. So our left overs we brought back from dinner were pretty much wasted. I figured mini fridges were standard in all rooms anymore:/ Next, when we returned to the hotel that evening, the girls wanted to of course swim (which the looks of the pool was another reason I chose this hotel). To access the pool, you must use your room card key to unlock the door. Our card would not let us in, nor would any card used from other guests or the main key from the front desk. So my young daughters were heartbroken to see the pool, but not be able to get in! However, the front desk guy was very quick to respond and called the maintenance man in to fix it. The man came in that night, which was very nice and we greatly appreciated it, and he fixed the door. The girls finally got to swim at 10:00 that night. We were glad they got to swim, however it was way past their bedtimes, lol!
So, overall great place to stay if you don't need a mini fridge:)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We appreciate your candid feedback and letting us specifics of what you liked and where we missed the mark. As we plan for extensive improvements to our hotel we do refer to guest comments like yours when it comes to adding features to all rooms like refrigerators. For now we do have suites that do include them so ask about those the next time you are in Lexington or you can request one upon arrival to be delivered to your room however those are limited. Glad your children were able to take a swim. Being a mother of 2 myself I do know how the pool can be a great feature to keep the kids entertained. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Address: 1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lexington
#18 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.