We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 65 hotels in Lexington
Corbin, Kentucky
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A group of friends and I stayed here for a St. Patrick's Day weekend. The room was very nice and spacious, and the hotel staff was very friendly, and the bed comfortable. They were very helpful in helping us call a cab to take us downtown. There was a good selection on the continental breakfast that had both hot and cold items. The location is nice and located near the UK campus and downtown area but I would not consider this hotel to be "downtown" as in everything would be within a short walking distance. There were plenty of places to eat within walking distance (Buffalo Wild Wings, Sir Pizza, etc), and you could walk to downtown from here, but we found a cab to be an inexpenisive alternative to walking downtown. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel. I am pleased you had such a great stay. I am glad you found the location and local dining convenient for you stay. I will pass your comments along to the staff as well. Please make sure to come visit us again when you return to Lexington. Maybe next St. Patty's day.

Thank you,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites

859.389.6800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    39
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
19
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I don't get it Holiday Inn. Your chain became popular because people could expect consistancy when traveling. We had a king sized bed in what was a very large room but no fridge/microwave. The Holiday Inn we'd been at the night before was a much smaller room but had a fridge/microwave. When we called the front desk, nobody offered to bring us one like they did with armymom3. We were told fridge/microwaves were only in rooms with two double beds. WTH? Our room was large enough for a FULL sized fridge, range and dinner table. It was a clean hotel and nice enough staff, but I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Meezer P,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding room amenities. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed in Lexington for a convention and booked too late to get a downtown hotel. This Holiday Inn is close enough to downtown for a quick drive or a long walk, and it is super close to UK. Breakfast was good, and the front desk staff gave my kids cookies when we walked in. Room was fairly clean and the hotel was full but mostly quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Derek L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We appreciate the kind words about our hotel, breakfast good, accommodating front desk, clean rooms and quiet. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are happy you experienced it as such. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not bad for an overnight stay. Staff was friendly, room was clean, and we were able to get a late check out. However, there were no towels at the pool, the pool water was cold (but the kids didn't seem to mind), and the hot tub was slimy. If you're not planning on using the pool, you'll enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your response. We value you feedback and use it to better our Hotel. I apologize the pool was cold during your stay. I have followed up with the Maintenance staff to make sure we have corrected the issue. We hope to have you stay with us again when you return to Lexington.


Sincerely,
Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The front desk clerk, Penney, checked us in. She was great! We asked for a fridge in our room, and she had one delivered along with a microwave within 15 minutes. She gave us great directions to a place for dinner. Our room was very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The pool was really nice. In the elevator, we met several of the housekeeping staff. They were very friendly and asked if we needed anything. Which we didn't. The water pressure was very good. The breakfast was good. Liked having the option of yogurt, cereal, oatmeal and fruit. They had several hot foods available also.With the window closed, we only heard 2 trains all night long. And the trains weren't loud. The internet was good. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are pleased that you had such a great stay with us here at out Hotel. Thanks you for taking the time to leave such a great review of our hotel. I agree that we have a Great Staff and I will be sure to pass you kind comments along to each of them. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Lexington.

Thank you,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for a tour of UK. I chose the hotel to be within walking distance to UK for the tour, we were advised by the front desk it was about a mile from where the tour started. We opted for a cab since we would be walking the rest of the day. It is walking distance but be careful about where on campus you are going before deciding to walk.
Staff was very friendly and helpful with the area and UK. We talked with them for quite a while. Our room was clean and spacious the bed was very comfortable with a choice of soft or firm pillows. There was more than enough room for the three of us.
We probably had the only bad location room in the hotel and I don't think the hotel was full so I'm not sure why they would fill this room until they had to but...
We were on the second floor 228 (I think) directly over the front entrance. Our view was the back of the stucco arch to the entrance. Every time the automatic sliding doors (two sets) opened and closed it sounded as if a balcony door in the next room was being opened, there are no balcony doors.
The walls could be thicker, not horrible but not great.
I'm sure they would have moved us to a different room if we asked but we were tired and just wanted to get to sleep, so it wasn't so bad it kept me up.
We never heard or saw a train.
Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn, decent selection everything was good but that had to be the thinnest bacon I've ever seen in my life, I'm not sure how they cooked it or got it into the serving dish, it was like film.

Room Tip: Not over the front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased you found our location so convenient for your visit to the University of Kentucky. I will make sure to let the staff know how helpful and polite they were. I have noted your comments about the room being above the entry door. We have found that some guests do not notice it and others do. We will make sure in the future to mention it to the guests prior to them checking in. We are pleased that other then that you found the room clean and spacious. I hope to see you all when you return.

Sincerely,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have to say that the staff, especially Nancy, were friendly and kind.
The hotel appearance was good.
The rooms were clean.
The downside was the amount of noise you could hear from above, the room next door and in the hall.
The breakfast was nothing special and if you are health conscience you will want to look for somewhere else to eat.
It is a short ride to UK.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room at the end of the hall. Avoid the ground floor because you will have peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments about you recent stay. We value and use these comments to better our hotel. I will forward you praise of the staff and the cleanliness to each of those departments. We hope that you return to see us again. We will be more then happy to try and get you in a room on the top floor. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Address: 1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lexington
#19 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.