We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Lexington
Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Staff!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The front desk clerk, Penney, checked us in. She was great! We asked for a fridge in our room, and she had one delivered along with a microwave within 15 minutes. She gave us great directions to a place for dinner. Our room was very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The pool was really nice. In the elevator, we met several of the housekeeping staff. They were very friendly and asked if we needed anything. Which we didn't. The water pressure was very good. The breakfast was good. Liked having the option of yogurt, cereal, oatmeal and fruit. They had several hot foods available also.With the window closed, we only heard 2 trains all night long. And the trains weren't loud. The internet was good. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are pleased that you had such a great stay with us here at out Hotel. Thanks you for taking the time to leave such a great review of our hotel. I agree that we have a Great Staff and I will be sure to pass you kind comments along to each of them. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Lexington.

Thank you,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    57
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
52
27
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for a tour of UK. I chose the hotel to be within walking distance to UK for the tour, we were advised by the front desk it was about a mile from where the tour started. We opted for a cab since we would be walking the rest of the day. It is walking distance but be careful about where on campus you are going before deciding to walk.
Staff was very friendly and helpful with the area and UK. We talked with them for quite a while. Our room was clean and spacious the bed was very comfortable with a choice of soft or firm pillows. There was more than enough room for the three of us.
We probably had the only bad location room in the hotel and I don't think the hotel was full so I'm not sure why they would fill this room until they had to but...
We were on the second floor 228 (I think) directly over the front entrance. Our view was the back of the stucco arch to the entrance. Every time the automatic sliding doors (two sets) opened and closed it sounded as if a balcony door in the next room was being opened, there are no balcony doors.
The walls could be thicker, not horrible but not great.
I'm sure they would have moved us to a different room if we asked but we were tired and just wanted to get to sleep, so it wasn't so bad it kept me up.
We never heard or saw a train.
Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn, decent selection everything was good but that had to be the thinnest bacon I've ever seen in my life, I'm not sure how they cooked it or got it into the serving dish, it was like film.

Room Tip: Not over the front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased you found our location so convenient for your visit to the University of Kentucky. I will make sure to let the staff know how helpful and polite they were. I have noted your comments about the room being above the entry door. We have found that some guests do not notice it and others do. We will make sure in the future to mention it to the guests prior to them checking in. We are pleased that other then that you found the room clean and spacious. I hope to see you all when you return.

Sincerely,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have to say that the staff, especially Nancy, were friendly and kind.
The hotel appearance was good.
The rooms were clean.
The downside was the amount of noise you could hear from above, the room next door and in the hall.
The breakfast was nothing special and if you are health conscience you will want to look for somewhere else to eat.
It is a short ride to UK.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room at the end of the hall. Avoid the ground floor because you will have peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments about you recent stay. We value and use these comments to better our hotel. I will forward you praise of the staff and the cleanliness to each of those departments. We hope that you return to see us again. We will be more then happy to try and get you in a room on the top floor. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My sister and I stayed here as we were passing through on a stop over from VA to MO. The staff was great, breakfast in the morning was perfect, and we loved the convenient location to everything. Comfortable beds, great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the breakfast and our staff services. We hope you had a safe trip while traveling to and from. We hope to see you again on any future trips.

Thank you,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Staff was great! Breakfest was Great! We stayed half between our destinations. Room was clean and staff recommend a great place for dinner near by. Right near a horse track the university of Kentucky

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are pleased that you had such a " Great " stay with us. That is our goal and we are glad we were able to show you just that. Providing you with a clean and comfortable room in addition to a complimentary hot breakfast are among the things that keep our guests coming back. We hope you stop back through Lexington to see us again on any future trips.

Thank you,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

•Train or hospital noise was not an annoyance on my stay.
•Small, narrow parking lot was a challenge for a full size truck.
•Checkin clerk was very pleasant, even though she told us she was by herself, and juggling multiple checkins while answering multiple phone calls at 9:00 PM.
•With heat on 72, my daughter was cold with only duvet and sheet on bed - will bring blanket when we return.
•Stair doors on 3 floors were propped open. When outside door by pool was opened, it created a vacuum effect and sucked leaves and debri in that were tracked throughout the stairwell.
•Cable service on certain channels would block out (like watching a smudged DVD).
•Some of the lamps were missing bulbs.
•None of my issues required management attention (just a typical hotel night). I would stay again on my next visit to UK due to location.
•Due to the cost, the rooms should have had a refrigerator and microwave though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed here many times and I have nothing but good things to say about this place! Very comfortable beds, good sized rooms, nice big windows that actually open. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. Location is good, close to downtown, close to everything. Yes, I noticed the first couple of trains that went by (and I was on the end room right by them) but after that I never paid any attention to them, and I'm a very light sleeper. Very quiet in the mornings, no loud housekeeping in the hall and "Do Not Disturb" sign honored. Decent breakfast. Clean rooms. Very nice place, in my opinion.

Room Tip: At night, on the south side, you get a pretty view of downtown Lexington in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We are pleased that you once again had a great stay here at our Hotel. It would appear that the complete replacement of all our guests windows did not go unnoticed. These windows which include sound proofing have made a big difference in the amount of noise heard from outside the hotels. Once again thank you for your continued business. We look forward to seeing you on your return.

Thank you,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington near the University of Kentucky
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
0.5 mi away
University Inn Hotel
University Inn Hotel
#36 of 69 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#9 of 69 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#49 of 69 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#24 of 69 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Address: 1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.