We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Lexington
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great for UK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very close to UK. The front desk clerk, Penney, was extremely nice and friendly. The breakfast was good and the beds were comfortable. I did notice the nearby train but it wasn't loud enough to wake me up once I was asleep. Very short drive to downtown area. There are a few restaurants nearby and I found a Rite Aid not too far away at which I could pick up a few things that I had forgotten to pack.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are glad you found our Location so convenient while visiting the University of Kentucky. I am also pleased Penney made your stay that much better. I have passed you comments along to her she wanted to let you know that was very sweet of you to leave such kind remarks. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Thank you,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    49
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
50
24
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding October 12th - 14th for a friends Wedding. This hotel was close to everything. Our room was decent, room was clean, staff was overly friendly. We had one problem with the hot water & the staff got it fixed immediatley. We have another wedding in Kentucky next year & will probably stay at this same hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are pleased you had a great stay while in Lexington for the wedding. I am glad we were able to resolve the issue you had with the hot water quickly and to your satisfaction. I will be sure to pass along your comments about our staff and cleanliness of the rooms. If you do return for that wedding this coming year we hope to see you again.

Thanks,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.E. Kentucky
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times now. It is very modern in decor, very clean, friendly at the check in desk. This hotel is close to the UK campus but not in any way associated with all the noise one would expect from being so close to a campus. Lots of restaurants in every direction and mall shopping very close by.

Room Tip: There is a train track behind the hotel and if you get a back end room, you will hear the train pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave these kind comments. We are glad you once again enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Thank you,
Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent location for U of K visitors. Beautiful hotel and rooms. Breakfast was nice though could add more fruit beyond apples and bananas. Front staff were friendly and helpful. Manager ran to local store to get a wine opener. Okay few staff members would go over and beyond for their visitors. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your response, we appreciate you taking the time to praise our staff and hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while visiting the University. We try to go above and beyond when it comes to service and I am pleased that we were able to make an impact on you by doing so. The trip for the wine opener was well worth these positive comments, as well as making it a lot easier to open your wine.

Thank you,
Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here on a Thursday & Friday while visiting our son @ UK. The front staff was very helpful with answering questions, giving dining suggestions and directions. This hotel is located within walking distance to various dining options and is also close to downtown. There is a pool, whirlpool, and guest laundry. Our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast, a good variety of cold and hot items. We will definitely return when visiting Lexington.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for the kind remarks you posted about our staff and Hotel they are greatly appreciated. Your feedback reflects the type of service we aim to provide our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed a refreshing stay here in Lexington while visiting your son. As he is at the University I am glad to hear you will be returning to our city as well as our hotel and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Thank you,
Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at this hotel for a one night stay. We arrived a little earlier than expected and went in to check in. The person at the front desk was not the friendliest, I told her we were early and asked if it were possible to go ahead and check in. She checked us in but acted as though it might kill her. Once we got our luggage out of the car to go to the room, the hallways were extremely warm and smelled like wet dog. The hotel was a bit dated. Later we stopped back by the front desk to ask if there might be a shuttle downtown and information about a taxi, the front desk agent told us they were in the phone book and walked away. So we had to go back to our room and look up phone numbers for a taxi service. I wasn't thoroughly impressed with the way the front desk staff presented themselves, they were not very helpful upon check in. It was close to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We value our guest comments and appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of the issues you experienced. It is our goal to provide the best service to each of our guests. I apologize that our staff did not meet those expectations on your recent stay. I have followed up with the front desk staff and emphasized the importance of our service to each of our guests. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to show you the type of service we are dedicated to delivering.


Thank you,

Chad Whisnant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Every year I reserve 7 to 10 rooms for a conference that several of us attend. This month was my 6th year and every year I am pleased with this hotel. They are helpful and friendly, the place is nice, the breakfast is great, and the rooms are comfortable. Feel free to stay at this place, you will be comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Address: 1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Lexington
#21 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.