We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smithtown Seafood

Smithtown Seafood
501 West Sixth Street, Lexington, KY 40508
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 749 restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: Seafood, Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had the beer battered catfish basket. While the fish was good, I felt that the batter was way too thick, but that is my preference and maybe they could ask. Another party just had the regular batter and it was thinner. Maybe some more tartar sauce too. We took the tour and applaud the efforts of what they are doing. I wish that I had known that they actually raise the Tilapia there, for I would have ordered that. All in all a pleasurable lunch and I would go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    6
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Need a more afforadble lunch menu.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stopped in for lunch on a weekday and asked if they had any fish an chips lunch specials. The guy behind the counter said, "Sure we can do anything you want". I ordered the catfish basket and a water. I had a ten in my hand fully expecting that to cover it. (I will have to admit I did not look at the menu, I knew I wanted fish and chips) The bill was $12.96. Slightly sticker shocked. On a positive note that food was very good, not the best I have had by far but I will go back. The next time will be for dinner though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“This is sustainable dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I loved the food here. I've now been several times and each time I love what I eat and swear its my new favorite, then the next time I try something else thinking it cannot top what I had the last time,,, then it does! With the extensive menu, I look forward to a lot of great meals here. So far, I highly reccommend the fish and chips, the asian style fish tacos, the salads are all great, and the nachos.

But beyond the food, I love this soul of this place. They get both fish and greens from FoodChain, a nonprofit, indoor farm next door. They also have menu items that support the nonprofit. The seafood is extremely fresh, the meat grown locally, is processed locally at a both sustainable and humane processing facility. You can eat at the brewrey next door and enjoy local beer from a brewery that is also committed to giving back to the community. It casual, affordable and the service is very good, they managed to find me the crowded tap room.

This is where I hope the future of dining is headed. If it is, I can't wait! Until then, you can find me at Smithtown Seafood!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great fish and farm to table restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Smithtown Seafood is a fantastic new addition to the Lexington restaurant scene.

It's a small seafood counter with an extensive menu. Seating is in West Sixth Brewing, next door. The menu includes a variety of appetizers, salads, fish baskets and sandwiches, a burger, hot dog, and whole tilapia. The whole tilapia and most of the salad greens are raised on-site by a neighboring non-profit aquaponics facility, FoodChain.

The food is amazing. Salads are fresh and inventive. The fish is fresh as it gets and perfectly fried (battered, rolled and fried, or pan seared). And there are some fun surprises -- like fish nachos, fish tacos (asian-style), and even the burger is great (sustainably raised beef!).

Definitely worth checking out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithtown Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Smithtown Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithtown Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.