We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little coffee shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Cup of Commonwealth

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
A Cup of Commonwealth
105 Eastern Avenue, Lexington, KY 40508
620-481-0110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 779 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome little coffee shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

It was so cold out during the christmas parade but we were able to warm up quickly with some delicious coffee. The people were very warm and inviting. They even have a pay it forward wall so you can get a coffee if you can't afford one!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Loved this Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I visited Cup of Commonwealth recently with my brother. I had the Chia Latte and it was one of the best I've had. The weather was great outside and we were able to sit at one of their outdoor tables and enjoy the afternoon. Will definitely stop back in when I'm in the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A truly lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've been here several times, but I'll tell you about my first time here.

I'd heard a lot of buzz around ACoCW's opening, so I decided to visit one afternoon. Sal introduced himself to me, and we talked for a bit before he gave me a taste of their cold brew. Already struck by the intimate, friendly atmosphere, I was shocked by how much I liked cold-brewed coffee (I'd had iced coffee many times before, but never cold brew). Its acidity was low, and I loved the taste.

Happily, I ordered a full-sized cold brew and sat outside at one of the little metal chairs across from the fountain with my notebook and relaxed for a bit for the first time in what felt like forever.

I've since been back several times, both with and without friends. I love the Pay It Forward board, and I love the community-centered atmosphere. I'll probably go back today.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“POSITIVE VIBRATIONS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Listen…you can't go wrong coming to this place. If you're having a bad day, go here. From my first step in the door it was nothing but positivity and kindness. The guys who run the place are so super nice that it will turn a bad day upside down. And their nice isn't fake :-) Sometimes someone will ask you how you're doing and they really don't care! LOL!! Not these guys. Their kindness is absolutely contagious and you can tell that they genuinely like what they are doing within their coffee shop. Not only that, the coffee is fantastic! I found the coffee so yummy that I didn't even need sweetener (I normally use honey :-) It's a chill place with nice people and you walk out the door feelin' their genuine kindness. They also have the "pay it forward' program which I love. Stop in there sometime. I promise you'll enjoy it ;-)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Went here for coffee yesterday. Very friendly staff, thanks Sal! Really great cappuccino! I will be back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cup of Commonwealth also viewed

 

Been to A Cup of Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Cup of Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.