We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth your time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Jax

The Jax
101 West Short St, Lexington, KY
859-721-2339
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Jax is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #219 of 749 restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth your time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a date night about a month ago and were not too thrilled with our experience. We also waited at least 15 minutes for a server to stop by our table and another 10 minutes for waters to drink, followed by another 15 minutes for our bottle of wine. When we finally ordered dinner, they were out of two of their entrees (both of which were two of their only pasta/vegetarian dishes). After re-deciding, we ordered an appetizer of goat cheese medallions w assorted veggies and two orders of sliders. On the menu it said "goat cheese medallions". Plural. What came out was the smallest medallion of goat cheese I've ever seen and a bunch of vegetables. We asked our server if it would be possible to get another one since we were splitting the app and even offered to pay for it. She went and asked the chef.. Apparently he/she said no because they wouldn't accommodate the request at all. We then asked for some bread since we were starving and waiting for our entrees. We were told it was considered an appetizer and would have to pay for it. Are you kidding me? Our entrees finally arrived and were the smallest portions I've ever eaten in my life. No manager visit to the table to try and appease us, water glasses were low/empty our whole meal and it took us about 2.5 hrs to eat. My bf and I left and got some tacos from a vendor on the street afterward because we were still hungry! We both served tables for years and usually don't complain but this was a joke!! Don't waste your time or money here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    9
    7
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't WASTE your time!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We live downtown and decided to check out the new place. We sat at the bar and waited 15 min. for them to just come over to say hi. We were the only ones at the bar and they only had 2 tables with customers. The server said the bartender would be right with us. Well we waited for him for another 10min. I ordered a Stella and my wife ordered a cosmo, simple right? He couldn't even pour the beer right, 1/3 of the glass was the beer head. Took him another 10min to make the cosmo and he had to look at a cheat sheet to do it. The cosmo was $11.50!!!! Not friendly at all and the service was some of the worst we have ever experienced. We looked at the menu and way too high!!! Had one drink then left. This place won't make it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place with weird menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice staff. View was of the street, from almost every table, with people walking by. Huge windows every where. The menu was strange to me, but the food was very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was at The Jax a couple of weeks ago and then again last night. The first time was supposedly the Grand Opening. Food was ok. Service was really bad and there less than 8 tables occupied. So, tried this again and it was worse. When we pay the prices they have, you would expect a higher level of service - the waiters and waitresses are so very poorly trained. The food is over-priced for the quality. Portions small, which is not bad since the food is below average. Do not waste your time at this estabishment - it will not be in business in 6 months.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jax also viewed

 

Been to The Jax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.