We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kentucky regional fare at its finest.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramsey's Diner

Ramsey's Diner
4391 Harrodsburg Rd, Lexington, KY 40513-9701
(859) 219-1626
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 771 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kentucky regional fare at its finest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The food here is awesome with large portions. They have fried green tomatoes, tomatoes and cottage cheese, fantastic salads and mac & cheese, with produce locally purchased. My favorite is the zucchini burger! My family says the meet dishes are great, and I've never seen a larger portion of chicken fingers and fries. Service is wonderful! And the pies!!!!!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sandston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really Good Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a Diner, with Diner food, Southern food! If you don't like Southern food, think it is unhealthy, go some where else. That being said..... Ramsey's Diner on Harrodsburg Road is a a wonderful place to eat and enjoy your meal. Ate here 3 times in one week with the family, no one complained, all LOVED it. Portions are HUGE, came home with box every night. Great service, great food. Will continue to eat here whenever we visit Lexington.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Kentucky Charm in Lexington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

When they talk about home cooking here they are probably talking about Ramsey's, just the kind of local place that I love to eat at. You really get that down home feeling as everything is very casual except the food. It's just great. My wife had the Kentucky Brown (which will be my choice tomorrow) and I had some very good chicken'n dumplings along with their fried green tomatoes and an ear of tender sweet corn. Service is great, we were not even pressured to leave during a rain storm. We were not really impressed with the pies, but we only tried two. They have many more to offer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Restaurant Feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I only live a mile from Ramsey's, but never had eaten there before this week. Very small place that stays busy. Neighborhood atmosphere with people from local area picking up TO GO meals. Since it is so small it can get noisy. I had the vegetable plate. Very good, plus it is noted on menu if meat was involved in the making of the vegetable, really helped if a vegetarian. Their fried cat fish was some of the best cat fish I have had. Plus you cannot leave without having a piece of pie!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This place was busy, but we loved the laid-back atmosphere. The food was delicious and we didn't feel rushed out despite how busy it was. If you go, get the Black Bottom Pie for dessert! YUM!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramsey's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ramsey's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramsey's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.