We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Chicken and a Chocolate Shake” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkette Drive In

Parkette Drive In
1230 New Circle Rd NE, Lexington, KY 40509-8423
(859) 254-8723
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 721 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken and a Chocolate Shake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I got the fried chicken sandwich and onion rings with a chocolate shake. My food was pretty good. The burgers looked a little weak. The restaurant was clean and the staff was nice. An older man was walking by, you could tell he was going to stop and tell a story. He told us that he played ball on the diner's team back in the 50's and about a 57 Chevy he had and a cop that wanted to race him. We had a pretty good time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    43
    38
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mid-west
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool place, Great Burgers & Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nostalgic drive-in, we saw on Dives, Diners, Drive-ins. Fantastic burgers, tater tots, "Colossal Car Crash" ice cream sundae. Eat in your car or inside the restaurant.Great service, very inexpensive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice meal at a historic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This was a family dinner to try a place featured on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. The meal was very good and filling. Nothing out of the ordinary, but very good. All of us were full by the end which is always good for a meal on the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Cute diner, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Don't let the rough/old exterior run you off- this place is great. Cute sit-down diner around the back if you don't want to use the drive-in. Good food at cheap prices. Everybody should try it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having seen the Parkette on DDD, when we stopped during a recent road trip, we were very disappointed. It is indeed a drive in, but about 80% of the call boxes had an "out of order" sign on them. They weren't very busy though, so we were able to find one that worked.

Our waitress was extremely nice and friendly, which is always a plus. The food was another matter. We all ordered the Poor Boy. They came out so fast, I was pretty darned sure they couldn't have been prepared fresh, and I was right. They were not hot, barely warm, and quite dry. The only saving grace was the onion rings; everyone enjoyed those.
I can't say it's the worst burger Ive ever had, but it certainly didn't live up to the throw back to fresh, hot, tasty burger as portrayed on DDD.
I sure hope they implement some changes and make it everything it could be.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkette Drive In also viewed

 

Been to Parkette Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkette Drive In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.