We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Southern Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merrick Inn

Merrick Inn
1074 Merrick Drive, Lexington, KY 40502
+1 859-269-5417
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Merrick Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 768 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: New Circle Road exit 18
Description: For over 30 years, the Murray family has owned and operatedMerrick Inn, located in the immaculately maintained manor houseof Merrick Place; for years, one of the finest thoroughbred farmsin the Bluegrass region. Merrick Inn is located on Merrick Court,off Tates Creek Road, just inside New Circle Road at the top ofthe hill in Merrick Place.Visitors to Merrick Inn enjoysuperb signature southern cuisine and innovative Americandishes, complemented by unparalleled service. Murrays’pride themselves on being the establishment of choice forthose in the thoroughbred industry, area residents andvisitors to the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 11:00AM-5:00PM and we begin serving dinner Monday through Saturday at 5:30PM.Enjoy cocktails in our lounge after dinner.As weather permits, enjoy lighter fare andentertainment on weekends on one of the mostattractive, comfortable and popular patios in the area.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We are Lexington residents, and we have enjoyed the great food and atmosphere of Merrick Inn
on a regular basis since 1971. We enjoyed dinner on the covered outdoor patio just last week and had their wonderful fried chicken. The servers & staff are great - keep it up!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    34
    10
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yes! Yes! Yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We drive from Indianapolis to Lexington for only one reason, MERRICKS!!! I eat steak from all over the country when I travel however I pass up the steaks and prime rib for the FRIED CHICKEN every time at MERRICKS. You will to if you try it. Jon

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“One of My All Time Favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I attended college in Lexington, Ky 25 years ago, and when my parents visited we would go to Merrick Inn to eat. Well, 25 years later it is still my favorite place to eat when we visit Lexington, and it always wonderful! On my recent trip, we ate there two nights in a row. The first night we ate in the restaurant which is classic Southern styl right out of the pages of Southern Living. I had the pecan crusted pork tenderloin with their classic corn pudding - delicious! My Mother had the hot brown which she raved about. Our server was perfect. The restaurant is formal and you need reservations. The next night, we decided since it was so good why not go back. This time we sat on the covered patio which is more casual and reservations are not necessary. You can eat from the patio menu or from the full menu. I had the fried chicken and mashed potatoes, along with Strawberry Shortcake - excellent. They have free valet parking for both the restaurant and patio. You cannot go wrong with a trip to Merrick Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always a great experience. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Merrick Inn is always a treat. It's a little pricey, but well worth it for special occasions. It's the perfect place for a date night or a meal after a day at Keeneland and the patio is awesome on warm spring and summer nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very good meal...nice 'date' dinner place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were on a 3-day first-time Lexington visit vacation and several of our neighbors recommended we try the Merrick Inn for dinner.

It's kind of a curious place....partially fancy but also partially laid back...customers were dressed in their "Sunday best" and then others in t-shirts and shorts. First of all, the entire "Merrick community" has very limited parking and there were cars all over the place...sidewalks, grassy knolls, curbs, etc. Fortunately, the Merrick Inn Restaurant has free valet parking because you'd be hard-pressed to find parking otherwise.

The inn/restaurant is like a old-time mansion house so you are dining in rooms of the house or dining outside (which was loud, insect-prone and smoky). They also have a bar which was noisy but is closed off from other rooms so you don't hear it. We dined inside one of the rooms.

We were given home-made bread first which was excellent.

I ordered the almond-crusted chicken with daily special soup & house salad ($20). The soup was some kind of sausage minestrone and very tasty. The house salad was a normal house salad (although I asked for cucumbers to be removed and they weren't...fortunately, they were 3" wide so easily removed!). The almond-crusted chicken breast was Excellent. Moist & tender and just enough.

Hubby ordered the 1/2 Fried Chicken (which is kind of what they are 'famous' for) with an "Heirloom tomato" special salad, broccoli and baked potato ($20 plus $10 for heirloom special). He was disappointed in the heirloom tomato salad, tasty but not great. The fried chicken was good but not outstanding in his opinion (like he thought it would be after reading other reviews of it). I tried it and found it to be kind of bland actually. The baked potato was fine but the broccoli pieces were huge and hard...really needed to be steamed a bit more.

So....it was a nice place to eat, nice to look over the property, but nothing fantastic, imo. Once was good but once was also enough.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrick Inn also viewed

 

Been to Merrick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrick Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.