We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a small group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merrick Inn

Merrick Inn
1074 Merrick Drive, Lexington, KY 40502
+1 859-269-5417
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Merrick Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 721 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: New Circle Road exit 18
Description: For nearly 40 years, the Murray family has owned and operated Merrick Inn, located in the immaculately maintained manor house of Merrick Place; for years, one of the finest thoroughbred farms in the Bluegrass region. Merrick Inn is located on Merrick Court,off Tates Creek Road, just inside New Circle Road at the top of the hill in Merrick Place.Visitors to Merrick Inn enjoy superb signature southern cuisine and innovative American dishes, complemented by unparalleled service. Murrays' pride themselves on being the establishment of choice for those in the thoroughbred industry, area residents and visitors to the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Dinner is served Monday through Saturday at 5:30PM. Enjoy cocktails in our lounge after dinner.As weather permits, enjoy lighter fare and entertainment on weekends on one of the most attractive, comfortable and popular patios in the area.
Lexington, KY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great place for a small group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Conducted a business meeting here one evening in one of the upper rooms. Extremely quiet setting and our waiter was very accommodating to our needs. Meal was fantastic from beginning to end. After all these years, Merrick still receives my 'best in Lex' dining experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    39
    11
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee, USA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good food! Good service! A slice of history!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed everything about this restaurant. The menu offered plenty of choices. The service was outstanding. I can strongly recommend the Merrick Inn.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great restaurant, good food and fantastic service and atmosphere. This is restaurant is worth a visit in Lexington. Need to book as this place gets busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“"Simple excellence"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visited the Merrick Inn after a long absence and it couldn't have been better. If you're looking for a place with a pretentious attitude and dishes you can't pronounce or identify, this is not it. The MI understands that excellence doesn't need to be complicated - just well-prepared food and efficient service in a warm, relaxing atmosphere. The "special" vegetable dish the night we went was spiinach, rice and tomato casserole. Sounds sort of blah. It was outstanding, and I could have eaten a bucketful! The peach-blueberry cobbler was tart, not sweet, just like I like it. I'm not a big cheese grits fan, but the ones with my entree were wonderful. I won't wait as long for my next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A must visit in Lexington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

As many new restaurants pop up in Lexington, the go to place for a great meal is the Merrick Inn. An old establishment that keeps reinventing itself, it is known for its Southern Cuisine. Their fried chicken is incredible and enormous, classic appetizers like the grouper fingers & deep fried banana peppers are great tasting and plentiful to share. We tried the scallops over a bed of sweet potato purée. Light & delicious, some of the best I have ever had! The filets are cooked to perfection, but their sides make the meal. Try the corn pudding, the stewed tomatoes or any of their casseroles. No room for dessert, but the Key Lime Pie is award winning, as is their bread pudding du jour. This restaurant needs to be on every visitors bucket list. It's fab.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrick Inn also viewed

 

Been to Merrick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrick Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.