We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomo Restaurant

Tomo Restaurant
848 E High St, Lexington, KY 40502-2107
859-269-9291
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 768 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Grayson, Kentucky
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved the sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My wife and I stopped here for a meal while in Lexington for a doctor appointment. We decided on Tomo and weren't disappointed. We had help from the chef and waiter on our choice of rolls along with a soup and several different kinds of sushi and rolls, we would go back when in area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

When I first went to Tomo I was very disappointed. They had many issues. Since then they have changed sushi chefs and much of the staff as well. It is excellent. Very friendly staff and the food is always fresh and delicious. One of my favorites in Lexington and the best lunch in town, light and not too heavy which tends to be an issue in the South. A great place for meetings as well. I would highly recommend Tomo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have been to Tomo a few times. Each time has been fairly consistent. The food is always really good, and the service is always really bad. Some of the custom sushi rolls are pretty good, but nothing you wouldn't find at any other restaurant. It is a bit overpriced, but any Sushi place in the midwest usually is. We received no refills, and no attention. We waited almost 20 minutes to get our check, with no one checking on us. By that time, we had to leave and didn't even have time to get dessert (if we'd even been offered it). Overall, food is ok, average sushi, pricey, but consistently bad wait times for service and lack of attention.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Never go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was the overall worst experience I've had at any restaurant in my life. The food was mediocre and the time we had to wait for it was unfair. A friend of mine had returned the sushi she ordered because it was gross and she had to pay the price of her replacement sushi and the other one (they never informed us that we would be expected to pay for what wasn't eaten). After speaking with the manager, she had no intentions of negotiating anything with us. She had a terrible attitude and told us that "the restaurant doesn't satisfy the customers needs, it satisfies the food preparation". We should have been compensated for the inconvenience but she still demanded our money. Not only did she demand it, she was very uncooperative and became enraged. Once she had her hands on the money, she cut us off mid-sentence and walked away. She never apologized or felt remorse. I have never met such an unprofessional, rude, and selfish manager in my life. She does not deserve the customers and attention that the restaurant has been given throughout the years. I will never return and I will never recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average food, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The sushi is fine, but comes at a premium. Nothing special about this place. Typical Japanese experience that charges the customer for the location more than anything else.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tomo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.