We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but chainish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Notte

Bella Notte
3715 Nicholasville Rd, Lexington, KY 40503-4441
859-245-1789
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bella Notte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 789 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rojay
New Castle, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good but chainish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited here on the way back from vacation. I thought it would be a small, family run Italian restaurant. It is more like an Olive Garden or Bravo. The atmosphere is very loud and the place is quite large. The food was very good however except for the antipasto plate which consisted of only prosciutto, buffalo mozerella and garlic toast. No olives or greens.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    70
    17
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, very nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I went there twice. The first time, we had vegetarian lasagna (nice), the prosciutto (excellent with the melon) and another pasta. The passion fruit mojito was veeery bad, we didn’t drink it and the waiter didn’t charge for it.
The dessert was very nice.
The second time, we had a pesto pasta and this was fantastic! I would say the best pesto ever. The garden pasta was also amazing! We had a bottle of wine that was half price and it was very good. The dessert (tiramisu) was excellent.
The ambiance is very nice. The waiters are nice, but sometimes overwhelm. They also need to study the menu a bit more.
I would definitely go back here

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My wife's favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We dined at Bella Notte this week while visiting family in Lexington. We visit several times a year and my wife always looks forward to her Bella Notte fix. The food, as usual, was very good. The service was excellent. It really is a gem for this city. We always ask them to open one in Austin!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wow - My current favorite Italian restaurant in Lexington.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I just realized that I had not reviewed Bella Notte,since it is easily my favorite Italian restaurant in Lexington. The atmosphere is wonderful. The full-sized olive tree in the middle of the dining area is a nice touch. The fresh baked bread is amazingly good. Their "Market Salad" is always another favorite. The only negative thing I can say is that I wish they had drought beer. Otherwise, I LOVE everything about dining there.What is not to like? It offers a great atmosphere,service and food that is reasonably priced. Sorry to sound as if I work there,but just trust me on this one and try it yourself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great Italian food at a reasonable cost with good service makes Bella Notte hard to beat. We don't go here as often as we should, but when we do we've never been disappointed. The bread is great and goes well with the olive oil and seasonings. I tend to stay with simple dishes like pasta and meatballs but those in our party who have ordered more elaborate dishes were very pleased. On our last trip we tried the Creme Brulee for dessert and it was wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Notte also viewed

 

Been to Bella Notte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Notte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.