We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local Asian Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Wind

Asian Wind
3735 Palomar Centre Dr Ste 4, Lexington, KY 40513-1147
(859) 223-0060
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #262 of 721 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great local Asian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Asian Wind is a staple of the Palomar/Beaumont area. I have been dining there for years and have never had a bad meal. In addition to Chinese you will also find great curry dishes and some Vietnamese fare. If you are a local or traveling, you should definitely give this place a try if you want good food and service

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Chinese that's fresh and MSG free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My family loves eating quarterly at Asian Wind. The family that owns this local restaurant is delightful and the food is always super fresh and well prepared.
We have made a tradition out of making Asian Wind our Christmas Eve dinner choice every year- a prelude to the fun of Christmas Day. Frequently we are the last ones dining before they close for the holiday.
Take out on occasion is just as fresh as eating in - their quality is consistent and delicious.
We highly recommend this restaurant in Palomar Centre as a dining choice for family or our guests (:

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Israel
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good place for vegans and vegetarians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great meat substitutes and not just tofu in many of their dishes. Nice atmosphere, friendly waiters.
I make a point to go there every time I am in Lexington about once a year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Kung Pao Chicken - no spice or pepper; hot and sour swill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I arrived during the late lunch hour, and ordered from the lunch specials, which include soup (no traditional egg roll included). I ordered Kung Pao chicken and the hot and sour soup. The soup arrived immediately and actually looked as it should. Unfortunately, the soup did NOT taste hot nor sour - it was sweet! Pushed it aside as not merely inedible - it was AWFUL!

Then came the Kung Pao chicken with fried rice. The fried rice was barely OK, but seemed lacking in delicacy and ingredients. The chicken pieces were just OK, but were overwhelmed by the huge pile of peanuts and ABSENCE of green pepper and spicy red peppers.

Obviously, the cooks here lack proper skill in asian cuisine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food, not great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I like Asian cuisine and went there before a play. I was alone and seated in a section with three other tables. Two other couples were seated after me. Waiter took their orders but didn't even acknowledge me. I got up and left.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Wind also viewed

 

Been to Asian Wind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Wind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.