We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't usually eat vegetable fajitas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner

Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner
2041 Richmond Road, Lexington, KY 40502 (Formerly Coba Cocina, Cobar, and Cocoh!)
+1 859-523-8484
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 768 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Tapas, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Some guys are born curious. They can't just wonder what's around the corner. They've got to go see for themselves. The Greers are like that with food. You might call them culinary explorers. You might run into Lee tracking the true cubano in a Tampa barrio, the perfect pork chop in a Rio churrascaria. Phil sweet talking the secret of sweet corn tamales out of an ancient abuela in a Yucatan taqueria. One or both hot on the trail of the tastiest brisket taco. The most piquant Peruvian ceviche. The most authentic salsa. Margaritas that'll make you want to mambo. Whatever wows them on their travels, they bring right on back home. To wow you at Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner.
Stanford, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I don't usually eat vegetable fajitas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and her best friend went a week ago and raved about it, so we went on Labor day
for lunch. I was blown away by the décor and atmosphere. The service was prompt and
the fajitas were as good as I was told. The chips and salsa were great, and they serve
filtered water. We had so many veggies I to request more tortillas (which are made fresh in
the kitchen) to finish. All for less than $12; Amazing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    45
    24
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very ordinary and marginal service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We finally stopped at Coba Cocina having passed it many times and observing an always full parking lot. The restaurant itself is visually stunning. Lighting and layout of the dining area are unique and there are two bars, one upstairs. We had margaritas in the upstairs bar. They were mostly ice with little alcohol. We were notified by text message of our table availability which is an improvement over carrying klunky pagers around. The experience went down hill rapidly after being seated. My napkin had a large fresh food stain which indicated the table was not completely cleaned from the last diner. Our waiter tried hard but seemed over matched. He did not bring the chips, salsa or black bean dip. To give him the benefit of the doubt, we did bring the remainder our our guacamole from the bar. Still, he could have inquired as to whether or not we were interested in the dip. The menu is suprisingly sparse with the traditional expected dishes of tacos, burritos etc. There seemed little in the way of house specialities to make the dining experience unique. I ordered crispy tacos but was brought tacos in a soft shell and had 5-10 minutes for the correct order to arrive. The food itself was tasty but nothing special. There is little to recommend here and I doubt very seriously if we will make a return visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere, Average Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As the other reviews have mentioned, the atmosphere is very modern, clean and refreshing. I went around 7:00pm on a Saturday night they said the wait was around 45 minutes but they sat us in 25 minutes. My boyfriend ordered their famous cheeseburger and fries which was cold however the management took care of the problem. I ordered nachos which were pretty good but there were only 8 nachos on the plate. Overall, the restaurant seems to put a lot of emphasis on appearance instead of the quality of food. If you want good Mexican food, go to an authentic restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle D, Public Relations Manager at Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Candace,

Many thanks for your visit and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We strive to deliver the highest quality food and world class service and use all constructive comments to work toward this goal. If you have other specific details to share, please let me know. We hope to see you soon at Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner.

Sincerely,

Danielle M. Dove
Director of Marketing
Greer Companies
866 Malabu Drive, Suite 250
Lexington, KY 40502
Phone: 859-269-1966, ext.114
Direct Line: 859-554-6314
Fax: 859-269-2381
ddove@greercompanies.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yuk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Screaming babies, waiters dropped and broke glasses twice; waiter had no suggestions; patrons in dirty, sleeveless t-shirts; meal was very heavy. Will never go back. Only positive was that it was cheap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle D, Public Relations Manager at Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks for your visit and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We strive to deliver the highest quality food and world class service and use all constructive comments to work toward this goal. If you have other specific details to share, please let me know. We hope to see you soon at Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner.

Sincerely,

Danielle M. Dove
Director of Marketing
Greer Companies
866 Malabu Drive, Suite 250
Lexington, KY 40502
Phone: 859-269-1966, ext.114
Direct Line: 859-554-6314
Fax: 859-269-2381
ddove@greercompanies.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One and done”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Food wasn't bad, but wasn't good either. Service could definitely improve if the servers were more attentive, drinks needed refills, no ice in drinks, we were never asked about our food after receiving it at the table. Flies were abundant in the indoor dining area near patio, friend and I both had flies on our straws at one point. Honestly, nothing we ate was memorable or worth bragging about; I had a combo meal with a taco, cheese and a chicken enchilada, friends had a spicy chicken and pineapple dish. Salsa at table tasted fresh and had just enough heat, really enjoyed it. Chips would taste much better if they switched to the thinner chips served at Cheddar's (Coba and Cheddar's have the same owners). The restaurant is beautiful,but there is nothing I enjoyed enough to make me want to return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle D, Public Relations Manager at Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Regina,

Many thanks for your visit and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We strive to deliver the highest quality food and world class service and use all constructive comments to work toward this goal. If you have other specific details to share, please let me know. We hope to see you soon at Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner.

Sincerely,

Danielle M. Dove
Director of Marketing
Greer Companies
866 Malabu Drive, Suite 250
Lexington, KY 40502
Phone: 859-269-1966, ext.114
Direct Line: 859-554-6314
Fax: 859-269-2381
ddove@greercompanies.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner also viewed

 

Been to Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.