We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent barbecue, but a little pricey. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Barbeque

City Barbeque
3292 Richmond Road, Lexington, KY 40509
+1 859-317-4430
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 789 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: The idea for City Barbeque was born as an invitation to all the people in the city to enjoy great barbeque- America's food. Our award-winning barbeque is made with only the highest quality meats and served with our signature sauces on the side. Huge smokers are loaded daily to guarantee the very best hickory smoked, juicy, tender meat anywhere. So if an authentic barbeque experience is what you're after, look no further. Small groups of folks like us still believe in honoring quality, generations of tradition and true service. Whether you call it barbecue, Bar-B-Que, BBQ, or barbeque - we've got what you are looking for! Our menu boasts premium smoked meats such as Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork, Pulled Chicken, All Natural Turkey Breast, Texas Smoked Sausage, St. Louis-Style Ribs, All Natural Chicken. Pair any smoked meat with our delicious City Sides for a true 'que meal! City Sides include baked beans with brisket, mac & cheese, corn pudding, green beans with bacon, fresh-cut fries, mixed greens with pork, potato salad, hand dipped hush puppies, side salad, gumbo and corn bread. Finish it off with one of our made-from-scratch desserts: peach cobbler, triple chocolate cake and banana pudding. We proudly dedicate our lives to the pursuit of barbeque and happiness (yes, in that order)!
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent barbecue, but a little pricey. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The food here is consistently better than average with a nice selection of meats and sides. It is a little on the expensive side for what you get, especially when compared to non chain type bbq places. I personally wouldn't go out of my way to eat there, but wouldn't avoid it if I was in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan F, Guest Relations Manager at City Barbeque, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed, thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flatwoods, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stuffed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great price, good food, recommending this place. I had pulled chicken, naked...yummy. My husband had the pulled pork and loved the great taste, ate it without any extra BBQ sauce!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan F, Guest Relations Manager at City Barbeque, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
So glad you and your husband enjoyed! We love that he enjoyed the flavor of the pork without any extra sauce! Thanks for recommending us- that's the best kind of marketing we could ask for :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stopped here after driving all day. We were looking for a place we can't eat at back home. Some locals recommended this place and we were not disappointed. Plenty of food, no one left hungry.

The meats: Most people had the brisket which they said had great flavor, super tender and juicy. The pulled pork was moist and perfectly done.

The sides: The baked beans had brisket in it and was the favorite side of the night. The sweet vinegar slaw was liked but it seemed like the table wanted it a bit more vinegary and sweeter. The green beans did not go over well this evening. The younger crowd liked the fries and said they had great flavor. The fried pickles were a big hit.

The deserts: Cherry cobbler was ordered. Mixed review, people either loved it or they were not thrilled with it. The cake part of the cobbler was thicker and a bit chewy which is exactly why some loved it and some did not.

This is counter service but the servers were super friendly and helpful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan F, Guest Relations Manager at City Barbeque, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We're happy to hear that you guys enjoyed your visit! Cherry cobbler is probably only going to be around for a limited time, so we appreciate the feedback! If you visit again, check out our peach cobbler and let me know what you think (email me at jordan@citybbq.com ahead of time and the peach cobbler will be on the house)! Thanks so much for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Our friends were right. City Barbeque is a keeper.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Several sets of our friends kept telling us we needed to try City Barbeque. I'm glad we did. My wife and I arrived just in time, ahead of the crowd, early Friday evening. We decided on a sampler platter - sausage, pulled pork, brisket, and a couple of sides - to share. All of the meats were outstanding as were the baked beans. The mac and cheese was nothing to write home about. I like the local feel of Billy's in Chevy Chase, but the food is better here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan F, Guest Relations Manager at City Barbeque, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We are looking into upgrading our mac & cheese so stay tuned! Hope to see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great food . The best ribs! Great service. A must try restaurant when your in Lexington,Ky.
You will love the restaurant

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan F, Guest Relations Manager at City Barbeque, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to City Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.