We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smashing Tomato - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smashing Tomato
2573 Richmond Road, Lexington, KY
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This little restaurant is located just outside the Doubletree and they deliver to the hotel. It was a very clean restaurant. The wood-fired pizza's were AWESOME! Super surprised they had little to no business. This place is a twothumbs up!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The pizza is very good and quick. It's very greasy but fresh. The staff isn't always the friendliest but the only interaction with them is while you order.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
“Very friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first visit to a Smashing Tomato's and were very impressed. We went twice since the staff were so friendly and helpful. A young man explained all we needed to know about the menu and then offered us a free cappochino after our meal, a very welcoming gesture. The food was delicious and the wine is served in very cute juice glasses. A great place to stop for a wonderful authentic Italian meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“YUMMY - Fast and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Highly recommend the "smashing" sauce over the tomato sauce for a nice zesty sauce. Both the chopped and the Caesar salads are excellent. GREAT food at a great price. Even if the line is long, it moves so fast because the pizzas only take 90 seconds to bake in the 800 degree oven! Definitely a great quick meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting Concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I love the concept of Smashing Tomato but I always leave this place still feeling hungry. This is not your typical American, Papa John's style pizza, check it out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smashing Tomato also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smashing Tomato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.