We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star service, food and suggestions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cole's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cole's
East Main St at Ashland Ave, Lexington, KY
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 771 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“5 Star service, food and suggestions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were in the area for the Derby and wanted to see Lexington. Heard about Cole's and gave it a try. Stooped in on Friday night, just before the crowd. We were seated promptly, served promptly and treated to a wonderful meal and some great local brew. The fried avocados were terrific. (Just how do they fry an avocado?) I had the shrimp and grits and was surprised at the presentation and preparation BUT was not disappointed! My bride had the salmon and was delighted with her choice. Uniquely prepared and well served..... We may have had the best server we have encountered on the planet handling our needs. Attentive but not overbearing, she worked the area expertly and anticipated our every need. It was a truly delightful meal and a wonderful dining experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Upscale casual with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Menu has a great variety, from hamburgers to the exotic. Appetizers are great. You can stop in for a casual week night dinner, go out for a fairly fancy dinner with family or friends or entertain business guests. The service is that of a high end restaurant. Well worth the little higher price point on many entrees. First Class. If you're looking for a very casual experience, try the bar area. Cozy, but comfortable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great New place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Real good stuff being put out by a local chef and owner . Specials were outstanding ! Fun, up beat real nice atmosphere.
Larry the great waiter will never disappoint . Listen to him and your in for a great night .

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Incorrect name, address”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The name of this restaurant is Coles 735. Although it is at the corner of Main and Ashland, its address is 735 East Main Street. There are other reviews for this restaurant under the name Coles 735.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent upscale dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We went with four friends last night, and when six people all come away happy, you've done it right! We had two delicious appetizers- the fried avocado and their daily special muscles. I never would have ordered the avocado, but seriously, don't skip that! It was fantastic. Several of My friends had a special heirloom tomato salad that they raved about, and the other couple had the wedge salad with the best blue cheese dressing I've ever tasted (lucky to have friends who share). We had a chopped salad that was very good. For our entree, we split the salmon with horseradish and citrus glaze, which was heavenly. The asparagus and mashed potatoes it came with we're perfect. One of the other couples ordered a shoulder steak that looked (and he said) was delicious. In all, a memorable meal with great service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cole's also viewed

 

Been to Cole's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cole's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.