We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite spot for brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Josie's

Josie's
821 Chevy Chase Place, Lexington, KY 40502
859 523 8328
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 772 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Favorite spot for brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have been to Josie's twice in two weeks. We love it! I have only ever gotten brunch or lunch there, so I can't speak to anything else, but they do that really well. Last time I went, I got my favorite fare: the eggs florentine with cheese grits. As always, the eggs are perfectly poached, and the grits were cheesy and garlicky, but not too garlicky. My husband got the Chevy Chase special of eggs and sausage because he loves their sausage and home fries. It's not typical link sausage, and the home fries are perfectly done. My niece got the special pancakes, which were lemon poppyseed, and delicious! This time I got the granola parfait and a piece of toast. I loved the parfait. It was filling and made me feel righteous. I really wanted their BLT&E sandwich, which was on special (they added a fried green tomato). That looked amazing when it passed by for the table next to us. I know it seems strange to rave about toast, but it was really, really good. Not from a toaster, it was grilled. Mmmmm. Hubby got the Belgium waffle, a visual masterpiece!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My sisters and I went there for brunch and it is definitely comfort food - Southern comfort food but not all the grease. The atmosphere and service equal the quality of the food. Such a good selection of entrees. Seriously, check this out for brunch, lunch, or dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“CHEESE GRIT CASSEROLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great place for breakfast! It was super busy on a Saturday morning, but well worth the wait! The cheese grit casserole is NOT to be missed- seriously!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

There was a nice variety on the menu (breakfast is always served)
The children and adults in our party all enjoyed their meals. I had the oriental salad, which was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Rueben Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

After looking over the menu at almost any restaurant during lunch, I almost always end up picking a rueben from the sandwich menu. The rueben at Josie's was amazing! It was appropriately sweet while having a tiny hint of spiciness. The chow-chow was a welcomed substitute for traditional kraut. Will be back soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josie's also viewed

 

Been to Josie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.