We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make the detour...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red State BBQ

Red State BBQ
4020 Georgetown Rd, Lexington, KY 40511-9065
859-233-7898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 721 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Make the detour...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My hubby and I took the detour off the interstate to find this place. It was well worth it! We had the little dog with us so I waited outside and played with the horses while he went inside to order up for us. There are no tables outside but the guys inside said they would bring up a truck and drop the tailgate for us! Can you imagine!!! How cool is that for customer service? Anyway, we had the baby back ribs. Probably the best I have ever had and slathered with the perfect sauce. Baked beans, slaw, both good. I would be here at least once a week if I didn't live in FL. It isn't a fancy place and it shares a property with a motel that probably won't show up on trip advisor. Don't let that deter you. This place deserves a stop if you are in the area. It is a very quick ride off the hwy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    89
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good BBQ for a good price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

When we stopped for dinner the place was packed. While we waited for a table we were asked if we'd like a drink. That was awesome service. It wasn't long before we were seated and ordering dinner. The BBQ was very good, we ordered the brisket and 4 different sides between the two of us and no complaints here, it was all good! Only thing was they ran out of cornbread. We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
747 reviews 747 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
“You may miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Red State is set in front of a nondescript motel in a worn out building off the highway out of Lexington north to Georgetown. You will miss it if someone has not given you directions. The owners have a vision to serve the best barbeque in the area and they are clearly on the right track. Beef, pork and chicken are carefully smoked with the choice of sauce (4 kinds) up to the customer. A limited, but delicious, menu of sides to complement the meat is available. Limited beer menu. Table service on weekends but stand in line to order throughout the week. Simple surroundings with about 12 tables. The ribs don't come out of the oven until noon so plan accordingly. Very good value for excellent barbeque.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ga
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great brisket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I had the brisket, it was a huge serving. He had pulled pork. Good corn pudding. Choice of 4 different sauces. Out of way to get there but worth the trip
Thanks tripadvisor for the suggestion

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy, happy, happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just had an amazing lunch at Red State BBQ and, as usual, I was not disappointed. From the outside, it looks like a typical roadside joint but it is such a cool place! Oh my goodness, the Frickles...fried pickles...were amazing! The ribs were so flavorful, I didn't even use the sauces, which are really good by the way, and there are five to choose from. As for the sides, my favorites are the Mac n cheese and the baked beans but my friend's corn pudding and beer cheese grits were also great. I would go back to Red State any day. It's a perfect spot to take out of town guests and show them a little real local flavor!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red State BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Red State BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red State BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.