We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windy Corner Market

Windy Corner Market
4595 Bryan Station Road, Lexington, KY
859-294-9338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 756 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Hamburgers, Vegetarian, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Amid northern Lexington's legendary horse farms sits Windy Corner Market, a destination for delicious homemade Po-Boy sandwiches, plate breakfasts and dinners, bakery treats and sundries. We are Kentucky Proud, and use local meats and produce in our food!
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Our Favorite!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is our go to place in Lexington. We always find great food here every time. Nightly specilas are great, particularly Wednesday shrimp etouffee, Friday fish special (amber jack for this week) and Saturday ribs. This week's soup of the day, zucchini and tomato soup, is fantastic. Salad greens are of best quality, love the salmon (steamed) salad. Also like the Kentucky Boy po-boy (pulled pork, melted beer cheese and fried pickes with bourbon BBQ sauce. Do not forget the chcolate bourbon pecan pie. There is something for everyone. Long lines during weekend nights and service could be slow.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    49
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adamsville, tn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family and I stopped in on a Sunday morning for breakfast. The place is a cross between hometown diner and general store. It sets in the middle of horse farms, beautiful scenery. It was busy on this morning so it took a little bit to get our food. We all had something different and everything was great. Make this drive out of Lexington if ever in the area, it's worth the drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Sit on the back porch and listen to the horses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

OK, so we are from metro-Detroit, Michigan. Horses around there are pretty rare, except for the occasional parade horse, or mounted patrol horse for crowd control at big events. It was joy to listen to the occasional whinny of a horse or two from the adjacent horse farms as we ate our meal meal.
We loved the fresh herb and vegetable garden boxes out back and the food inside was good too. I tried the sausage breakfast burrito and though it was small by comparison to the meals my companions received, it was filling and tasty. Their selections were beautifully plated. Lots of love and care go into food preparation here.
Everyone was friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was relaxed. Restroom was clean and fresh. We LOVED the eclectic background morning music too!
We enjoyed our meal so much that we returned for lunch a few days later with another guest to introduce to the Windy Corner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First and last stop of the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great spot in the middle of the bluegrass pastures. Horses across the street. If you sit outside you feel like you're at your own horse ranch enjoying a break from tending your own horses. Food is good and atmosphere is super. The real Kentucky experience with the locals. We seriously started and ended our days here getting one of their amazing scones and milk for an evening snack and then coming back first thing in the morning for an egg sandwich with Kentucky ham. Also purchased locally-made candy and snacks to bring back as gifts and souvenirs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“If you want romantic or don't like crowds, go elsewhere....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

That being said, we liked the place. We really weren't expecting much considering it was basically an old grocery made into a restaurant with fast food service (but not fast food). We did have to stand in line a while to order, but that was OK, because that gave a table time to open up. We also needed the time to go over the menu. I got a steak, yes a steak, and it was very good. They bring your food to the table, and it was hotter than I’ve ever gotten in a restaurant. The green beans were some of the best I've ever had. The salad was also mixed greens and not the standard iceberg. The person with me got a burger and said it was one of the best she ever had. Yes, it's loud, and crowded, and out in the middle of nowhere, but if it wasn't good, it wouldn't be so busy and loud, right?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windy Corner Market also viewed

 

Been to Windy Corner Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windy Corner Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.