We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Lexington South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Lexington South to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Lexington South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2651 Wilhite Dr, Lexington, KY 40503-3301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Lexington
O'Brien, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small but Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very nice staff, stayed in room 118 room was small but cozy and clean. Had a flat screen TV, wish there were more channels. Motel is old but has been updated. No Breakfast =( , but has coffee. Would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: If you don't like a small room, pay the extra and go bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a response. We did just complete a renovation to all of our rooms. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. If you do you may want to ask about our superior king room. It is a larger room with a big desk area and it has the in room coffee pot. Thanks again for choosing us for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    22
    9
    9
See reviews for
16
16
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Mo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This Red Roof is on the older side but a nice quiet place to stay the night. Near a Starbucks and Red Lobster if you want to walk somewhere. This hotel is close to the Fayette mall but not within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We just completed a renovation and updated all of our rooms. If you return to our area please stop in and see the new rooms. Thanks for leaving feedback regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A family member neglected to reserve us a room at a nicer hotel in Lexington, so we had to scramble to find a place nearby during a UK home football game. We could have paid close to $200 for a room, but we just wanted a place to sleep for one night. Checked the trusty Trip Advisor reviews and selected Red Roof Inn. I had never stayed in one before, but the price was right and it was close to the hotel where the rest of our family was staying. The bonus, we learned after booking, was that Red Roof Inns allow pets at no extra charge. So, we decided to bring our poodle with us. The room was your standard motel. My wife noted that it was not much different than the inside of the Disney All-Star Movies Resort we stayed in just days earlier. Just no Herbie the Lovebug facade. The room was clean. The beds were fairly comfortable, and the flat panel TV worked great. Ladies - be advised, though - there's no hairdryer in the room! There's also no coffee in the room. I learned after walking one block up the street to Starbucks that they had free coffee in the lobby. The staff was reasonably friendly and promised to fix the air conditioner that didn't work in our room. It got just a bit stuffy running the fan, but we weren't miserable for the time of year.

The hotel is located just off the freeway and is convenient to a shopping mall and a variety of other retail places. Keeneland Race track is just a few miles down the road as well. It's a great location, and we enjoyed our stay. Nothing fancy. No frills. Just sleep and be on your way!

Room Tip: They have an elevator, which is helpful for those not able to take the stairs but wanting to be on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here overnight on a girlfriend trip to Keeneland horse track. Chose this hotel because of its location, reasonable price and good reviews on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately we were not as impressed as others have been. Location is great: only a short drive to Keeneland, the U of K campus, downtown Lexington, a shopping center or fast food restaurants. Unfortunately you get what you pay for. Very few ammenities in the room - no hair dryer, no Kleenex, a small packet of shampoo buried in a towel, a bar of soap, no extra towels. Very noisy fan in a very small bathroom. Room was relatively clean although we spotted what looked like mold on a few fixtures in the bathroom. Person at the front desk knew nothing about the downtown area and the only restaurant he could suggest was the one where he ate. A very basic place reminiscent of the old roadside motels. We stay at inexpensive hotels because we don't spend much time in the room - but this hotel lacks the ammenities of even other inexpensive hotels. If you stay here, bring your own personal items such as shampoo, hand lotion, dryer - things provided in most hotels.

Room Tip: Bring your own personal items such as hand lotion, shampoo, kleenex, hair dryer.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave your response. We do have hair dryers,irons, ironing boards and extra supplies available at the front desk. We are located near many activities and attractions. I thank you again for staying with us and invite you back next time you visit our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was a weekend trip for the guys. Stayed at this motel because it was close to the University of Kentucky. The room was neat and clean and the bathroom was clean. Bed was comfartable as could be expected. The AC in the room wasn't working properly the first night. We went to the office and told them and within about 30 minutes, there was a new unit in the room. This one really worked well..Brrrrrrrrr. For the money i would reccomend this motel unless you are looking for 5 star.

Room Tip: all rooms were in decent location. first floor is always better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing us while in Lexington. I am glad we could correct the maintenance problem you had. If you every notice something not working correctly, let us know. We will do our best to make things right. I hope you stay with us again if a return trip every comes up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I rarely give hotels 5 stars but this hotels made it . Very clean; over friendly staff, the general manager even talked to us. Good hot breakfast. Rooms are update and adequate is size. The only drawback is the small breakfast seating area. Nice indoor pool. Everything you expect from a hotel at three times the price we paid. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a even number room - away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This motel is in a very good location. There is a lot of shopping very close by. It is right on the hwy, too. The rooms are small but clean. The A/C worked very well. The TV had a loud, sporadic buzz that was annoying. My stay was quiet but I can see how this place could possible get loud.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your trip. We are located less than a mile from the biggest mall in Lexington. I did contact our television contractor to come and inspect the audio throughout the motel. Again thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. We hope you choose us again if you return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Lexington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lexington South

Address: 2651 Wilhite Dr, Lexington, KY 40503-3301
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lexington South 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lexington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Lexington South Hotel Lexington
Lexington Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Lexington South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.