We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't quite meet expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Canebrake Dr, Lexington, KY 40509   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Lexington
New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Didn't quite meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Had expected a bit more. The room was basically clean, but the housekeeping service was a bit haphazard: a few crumbs on the far side of the room between one of the beds and the closet remained after the room was cleaned for at least a couple of days; the rubbish basket in the bathroom was emptied daily but the rubbish basket in the room was emptied only every other day; the in-room coffee maker included coffee and cups but no spoons/stirrers, sugar, tea, etc. We did leave a tip daily but that didn't seem to have made any difference. The free breakfast was also a bit uneven, which seemed to be dependent on the person servicing the area: one of the mornings the hotel staff was prompt in replacing empty coffee urns, and so on; the next day a different staff person seemed to end her shift early, watching TV while there was still at least 15 minutes left for breakfast and there were some guests who could have used some attention.

Amenities included free breakfast, free wifi, free Lexington and USA Today newspapers, a small indoor pool, and onsite coin-operated laundry.

Not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel: there's a couple of other chain hotels, a small waffle place and a "gentlemens club" two doors away. If "live exotic dancers" don't float your boat, you'll need to drive a bit for daytime or evening entertainment/diversions. That said, the hotel is right off of I-75 so is very convenient for day trips around bluegrass country.

Expectations were high based on other TA reviews. It wasn't a bad stay but would think twice before returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    124
    41
    10
    9
See reviews for
215
105
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

There was a mix-up with my reservation, but this hotel was not only able to accommodate me, but tried the other La Quinta in town to cancel my reservation there, (thinking that's where I had made it) so I wouldn't be liable for that room. The woman at the front desk was very helpful, and handled the rush of folk that came in right behind me with efficiency and grace. As it happened, I had made the reservation for a La Quinta further down the road (phone number mix-up on the corporate site?) and when they were contacted about my situation, they had no problem cancelling my reservation and clearing up the matter.

Breakfast bar was good - bonus points for having real half & half for the coffee and real butter for the waffles/toast/whatever you like butter on.

Very clean, very comfortable, very friendly and competent staff. Would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel public rooms were clean in spite of this being a pet friendly motel. Our room was also clean, large and nicely furnished. The breakfast is ample and fresh, and the price was fine. I will look for La Quinta on future road trips.

We needed a last minute room while on the road. We got the last room in the hotel. Andrew at the front desk was helpful and courteous, not only to us, but to the 3 travelers after us that he had to reject. There were lots of dogs, and they were all well behaved and clean. Wonderful for travelers with pets.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff is very nice and professional. The hotel and room is always clean. The breakfast is always good and fresh. I like the fact that pets are allowed which helps save on boarding costs. This is the only hotel I use when traveling.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. Do not stay here if you are not a dog person. Almost every other guest had a dog. Even with all the animals I was pleasantly surprised not to see any pet hair in my room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I liked the hotel, price was right, allows pets, right off freeway. Needs a little tlc. Hot tub is uncomfortable like crazy. Breakfast is boring if staying more than a few nights. You can't do much better for the price though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were on the road and booked this last minute. The person at the front desk was extremely helpful in all ways. She greeted me like she was very happy to see we made it ok. Unfortunately she didn't have a name tag so i don't know her name. She was there in the morning making sure that the breakfast area was well stocked and immaculately
clean. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg

Address: 100 Canebrake Dr, Lexington, KY 40509
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lexington
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#16 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Lexington South Hotel Lexington
La Quinta Lexington
Lexington Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.