We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Canebrake Dr, Lexington, KY 40509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice clean motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to NC. We chose the property because we travel with two large dogs, and La Quinta Inns allow pets free of charge.

The motel was very clean and was upgraded nicely. Don't get me wrong - it's not the Four Seasons. But for a cheap roadside motel it can't be beat. Our room was very clean and comfortable with new carpet and beds. The bathroom had been updated recently, and though we're talking faux wood linoleum flooring vs marble, it was still a nice upgrade. The shower pan had not been updated, which was a little disappointing because it was one of those plastic ones that just turns gray with age. But again, everything was very, very clean.

The pool is small but was perfect for my toddler. It was crowded with lots of kids the night we were there, and that seems to be echoed in some of the other reviews so don't plan for any romantic pool time. There is also a hot tub.

Breakfast was standard motel fare. The eating area was very clean and was straightened up and wiped down throughout service.

The staff were exceptional, especially Michelle who checked us in the night we arrived. She was so friendly, conscientious and helpful to us and the other guests we saw her assist.

We drive through Lexington a few times a year, and this is definitely our new lodging choice in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    150
    54
    11
    12
See reviews for
252
127
26
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed at this LaQuinta last year. Seemed nice. We were in the area again this year so booked it for 2 nights. It is stall a fairly decent place, good rates. Clean. But this time around it seemed pretty noisy. Dogs barking, kids running around upstairs. The soundproofing doesn't seem to be the best. The breakfast was the usual fare, but overall, pretty good. At least better than worse. I'd stay there again if in the area, but if could use some improving in the noise area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My daughter and her two children and I traveled from the Chicago area to Charlotte, NC; and stopped here the first night as Lexington is about the halfway point. I chose it partly because it had an indoor pool for the kids, and also convenient to the highway. It had good reviews here, and I received a great deal on hotels.com.

The hotel itself was very clean. But as my daughter and her kids were using the pool, several people came in with their beer and cigarettes. The whole pool area smelled from the cigarettes, as well as the elevator. So they cut their swim short. (I did tell them the next morning, and they said I should have told them that night but I was too tired. And besides, the pool was only steps from the lobby; I'm sure they could have smelled it too.) We ordered pizza from Donatello's as we were too tired to go out and there did not seem to be any restaurants nearby; we would not recommend the pizza.

It was quiet enough to sleep ok, but the beds were not that comfy.

The next morning we had the breakfast in the lobby, and it too was disappointing. I wanted to toast an English Muffin, but it was hard as a rock. My daughter's coffee looked strangely oily. Her muffin was like a Little Debbie brand.One of the kids had an orange and the other had a waffle (ok).

Overall, our experience that particular night was not positive. Perhaps it was just that night, but on our trip back, we selected another hotel which exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several nights and were very pleased with this facility.

The hotel is located just off of I-75 in a rather undeveloped section of countryside so there is little local traffic and little or no noise from the interstate. Downtown Lexington, the airport, shopping malls, and many places to eat can be easily accessed from this location - there is a Wendy's and a Waffle House and several gas stations nearby. There is plenty of parking with a front and back entrance to the hotel. For added security, the back entrance can only be accessed by key - even during the day - a feature you do not find in some hotels.

The hotel has a very small lobby/check in area but is otherwise very well laid out with two elevators to serve the upper two floors. There is a small but well equipped exercise room and a pool. The public spaces near the elevators on the top floors have large areas of glass to let in the outside light, giving a nice open feel that you don't often find in chain hotels.

The reservations included a free morning breakfast served in a fairly large dining area which also has a small sitting area for watching television. The breakfast offerings were ample - including sausage gravy and biscuits, waffles, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, various baked goods, cereal, fruit, juice, and coffee/tea. The space for serving food was tight but the arranged well so as to prevent long waiting lines. The food area was monitored constantly by a friendly attendant who replenished items frequently and cleaned any spills or discarded items immediately. We ate breakfast in the hotel each morning, not feeling the need to venture elsewhere for a substantial morning meal.

We had a room on the third floor with a king sized bed. The room was very clean, spacious, and well equipped, including a microwave and a refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable with 5 o 6 wonderfully soft pillows. The heat in the room was easy to control from the wall thermostat. The bathroom was stocked with plenty of towels and the shower worked well with no trouble getting the right temperature and flow of water.

There was free wi-fi in the room and if I have any complaint about this facility, it would be that the speed of the wi-fi fluctated and dropped the connection from time to time.

The staff was friendly and ready to answer any questions about the area. In the evening there were fresh baked cookies in the lobby!!

This hotel is a great deal for its price - better overall than many places that charge twice as much or more!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Kentucky, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Pleasant check in & out. Everything was clean, did not smell of smoke even though it was a smoking room, (thank goodness) never found the ash tray. Not in hamburg but a short drive north 75 it should be listed as 75 & Richmond rd

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Last Saturday night my family arrived late to the hotel. The young lady who checked us in was very pleasant to talk to and gave us all the information we needed about the hotel. Upon entering our room we had reserved prior to the night, we entered a dirty room. Due to no vacancy in the hotel for the remainder of the night, the young lady offered to clean it as best she could, and was so apologetic about the situation. It was late, and we were tired but Amber got us squared away at the La Quinta on the next exit. She handled herself very well and made sure the other locations room was the exact one we needed, and asked the room be free over at their property. She was very helpful, and very honest. Great employee, willing to solve the mess of our problem after midnight! Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Reserve rooms with the young lady! If any problems, she is glad to help 110%!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg

Address: 100 Canebrake Dr, Lexington, KY 40509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lexington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#18 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, LaQuinta and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Lexington South Hotel Lexington
La Quinta Lexington
Lexington Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.