We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Error in Judgement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3575 Tates Creek Rd., Lexington, KY 40517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #45 of 64 Hotels in Lexington
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Error in Judgement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Really in a hurry to book a hotel to attend funeral. Reasonable ratings on Trip Advisor, fair price (less than $90 per night incl tax), and good looking photos on website. What an error in judgement. Lobby and hallway carpets are filthy although my white socks in my room show only sparse dirt. Decor is tremendously outdated and place just feels depressingly creepy. Sofa & chairs have stains, baseboards coated in dust, bathroom fixtures so dingy that not sure due to age or lack of proper cleaning, bathroom poorly re-caulked and can't cover up black mold lurking in some corners. My coping mechanism was to cover sofa and chairs with spare set of sheets provided for sofa sleeper. Positives: friendly staff, a roomy suite with kitchen, breakfast of good coffee and instant oatmeal varieties including one without flavors, fresh fruit and granola bars (could be neg if looking for protein.) Great location for our needs but really don't bother staying unless you really like that dowdy/grungy sort of decor sprinkled with a healthy dose of dirt. Another error of judgement: no daily room cleaning or towel exchange. You have to bring your towels to front desk in order to get fresh ones!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I was very pleased to read your remarks about the staff, grab and go breakfast offerings and the location of our hotel. Still, I am very sad to read about the lack of cleanliness of your room. I have tasked our housekeeping staff with going through each of our guest rooms looking for dust and other items, ensuring they are removed and everything is gleaming. As well, I have spoken with my front desk staff about conveying our housekeeping policies better to our guests so they are aware of how often it takes place as well as how to obtain clean towels and additional items as needed.

Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
2
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were passing through and just needed a place to sleep before continuing our journey. The hotel in Lexington I had planned to stayed at only had smoking rooms when we got there. So I jumped on TripAdvisor to see what else was available. This hotel was cheap and highly ranked on TA...perfect! Unfortunately, it didn't live up to my pre-arrival expectations.

The good: very friendly receptionist, free internet, price, clean
The not-so-good: rooms are very out-dated, bed was so-so, high powered flood lights all around the hotel and signage warning of car break-ins didn't exactly instill a safe feeling of the area.

Overall, the hotel served our purpose, but I was expecting more from a hotel ranked #10 on TA at the time of this write-up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe O, Manager at Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your posting. Friendly service and clean rooms is what we offer in in Lexington. The only signs in the parking lot are reminders to guests to remove all valuable from their cars which is very common and seen at most hotels and restaurants. Most guests are happy that there is plenty of light in the parking lot at night but I regret you found that to be an issue. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The overall hotel is nice. The only off putting thing was the carpet in the hall ways. The carpet is extremly dirty and it gives off an odor. The guest rooms are nice and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I wish this location had a fitness center. This hotel is not far from great resturants, walmart, or the shopping mall.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center at this location :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe O, Manager at Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. The hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms and is close to very nice places to eat and drink. We appreciate you kind words about the friendly staff. Come back and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The property was great and clean, but what really shined was the staff. Both in the evening when I arrived and the crew the next morning, everyone was so warm and friendly, I felt like I was speaking to people I'd known for ages. You can't fake that kind of genuine friendliness, I'll definitely stay here if business brings me back to Lexington!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe O, Manager at Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. The hotel wants every guests feel as if they are at home. We have placed new flat screen TVs and a Grab and Go breakfast at the hotel. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Amazing customer service! We stayed here with our coupons from the previous visit at another location going badly and we were nervous!! Turns out that was silly because everything here was perfect, clean rooms...breakfast bar...and wonderful staff!!!

Room Tip: We were in 325 corner room..super quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe O, Manager at Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
The "Grab and Go" breakfast was just added to the hotel. Plus - new flat screen TVs have been placed in all the rooms. Hope to see you when you come back to Lexington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloumbus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I came in to Lexington on a business trip. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The entire hotel was clean and the staff were courteous and professional. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Lexington!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe O, Manager at Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Great location and great staff are just two reasons that makes the hotel a GREAT Place to stay. Thank you for your business and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My son and I stay here every time we visit the Shriners Hospital for Children. The staff is friendly and professional, the room is clean and comfortable and the location is very convenient to a mall, restaurants and movies. No doubt we will continue to frequent this location. Thank you Extended Stay America!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe O, Manager at Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. The hotel is close to everywhere you need to go in Lexington. When you return you can enjoy our new GRAB and GO Breakfast. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek

Address: 3575 Tates Creek Rd., Lexington, KY 40517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 64 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Extended Stay
Extended Stay Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.