We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation but adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Lexington South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Lexington South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3060 Lakecrest Circle, Lexington, KY 40513   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 65 hotels in Lexington
Washington DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Needs renovation but adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Staff was extremely warm, accommodating and welcoming. Room was perfectly adequate but I was slightly overwhelmed by the air freshener that housekeepers had sprayed both in the corridor and in my room. Was awakened at dawn by noise from trucks at some sort of commercial facility a stone's throw from the hotel. Nice breakfast. Attractive lobby. NO HBO. I have never been to a Hampton Inn that did not have HBO so had to miss season finale of "Boardwalk Empire."

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    16
    16
    4
See reviews for
28
19
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin.TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

It's a sad statement on my work travel calendar, but I now sleep better in a Hilton / Hampton than I do in my own bed.

This Hampton is conveniently located to several Lexington spots, including the airport. It *is* a little loud, as others have commented on. But I did *not* have the karoake issues or undue rowdiness issues that others reported. Maybe because at 10:00, I was out and slept straight through until 5:30. Fabulous.

Yes, this hotel is older. But I don't know that anything "needs" an update. I'm not a fan of just sending stuff to a dump and buying new just because the furniture is 10+ years old. It is what it is, and its price point matches what you are getting, imho.

Yes, the manager is informal. I did not mind it as some others did. And, I am impressed by what hands-on service he provided. He not only handled my check-in, but he also came to the room later in the day to check on a service ticket (related to plumbing) that was apparently still unresolved for this room. Should that have been handled before I checked in? Absolutely. Was it a big deal? No. (Was it weird that they "solved" a plumbing issue by using Liquid Plumr? Yes.)

Elevators are super-slow. Fortunately, the property is only 3 stories and the stairs and broad, carpeted, and easy to access.

I would stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels629, Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington South, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We hope that your stay at our property, met and exceeded your expectations. If there is anything that we can do to further assist you in the future, please do not hesitate to call us. Again, thank you so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This Hampton Inn has a friendly , helpful staff and is conveniently situated to Keenland Race Track. Situated in a shopping area and near New Circle Road it gives one many options for restaurants and easy access to the major routes for touring the Bluegrass region. The hotel rooms are showing some wear and tear. Rooms on the rear side of the building are noisy. A bar across the street behind the Inn had loud clientele until well after midnight on several nights during our stay. Request a room on the front side of the building.

Room Tip: Request room on front side of hotel away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels629, Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington South, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms and bathrooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. However, we will also work with our maintenance staff to ensure that all of our rooms are up to the standards that our guests expect. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fordtraveler56
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were recently in Lexington for the horse races at Keenland and spent 2 nights at this Hampton Inn. The only thing this property has going for it is it's location. There were several things about our stay here that we found disappointing but the worst offense was the black mold in the bathroom behind the peeling wallpaper room 125. There are several Marriott properties and a Comfort Inn in the same vicinity.. I suggest you stay at one of those. Not up to Hampton Inn's standards but just as expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels629, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington South, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms and bathrooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. However, we will also work with our maintenance staff to ensure that all of our rooms are up to the standards that our guests expect. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was what I normally expect in a motel or hotel, Clean rooms, quiet, comfortable beds. Breakfasts are also good. I was surprised there was no cold cereal, but there was plenty of other things. May I suggest that when anyone stays at a place that furnishes a good breakfast, tip the lady who is taking care of it. If you were eating in a restaurant you would tip, so why not her?

Room Tip: Top Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels629, Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington South, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We hope that your stay at our property, met and exceeded your expectations. If there is anything that we can do to further assist you in the future, please do not hesitate to call us. Again, thank you so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Although this Hampton Inn is older and could use some remodeling, our stay was fabulous because of the staff. They were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was good and the hostess on Friday and Saturday went above and beyond her job description. She was very cordial and accomodating. She acted very happy to be helping us.
The pool and jacuzzi were very clean and relaxing. We enjoyed the complimentary popcorn and hot tea that was at the front desk. The location was central to everything we were doing in Lexington and to have restaurants in walking distance was a plus.
I would recommend this hotel for families. It is inexpensive and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels629, Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington South, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We hope that your stay at our property, met and exceeded your expectations. If there is anything that we can do to further assist you in the future, please do not hesitate to call us. Again, thank you so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed at many Hampton Inns before, but never one where I could not get at least a decent nights sleep. After watching the news, I tried to go to sleep as I had an early business meeting in the morning. I had heard some commotion outside during and after the news, but didn't think too much about it as there were some restaurants and businesses across the street from the hotel and figured that they would be closed shortly as it was a mid-weekday. Well, it was well after 2AM and I was still awake as apparently there is a LOUD karoke bar directly behind the hotel in the strip mall. I tried calling the front desk to see if there was anything they could do as surely they must be aware of this situation and I could not possibly be the first guest to complain. The woman said she was 'sorry and understood' but there was nothing she could do as they were 'not affiliated' with the hotel. I also tried calling the bar itself several times, as the number is listed in the guest packet inside every guest room, but only received busy signals. So by including the bars information and menu in their guest room, it would sure appear as if Hampton Inn is promoting their guests to use this establishment. As for the hotel itself, it is convienent to the highway, but the carpet in the room was dirty and the variety for the breakfast buffet was weak. You can tell they only do an overview of vacuuming as it was dirty around the night stands, in the corners and around the air conditioning unit. There are other hotels nearby that are not located across from this bar. So if do not wish to sleep through the night, stay here. Otherwise go somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels629, Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington South, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the noise from neighboring night life. I know how important a good night’s rest is while traveling and I sincerely apologize we were not able to provide this for you. Your comments will help us to improve our guest experience and have prompted us to look into new means of soundproofing. I hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area so that we might show you the restful stay you deserve.

Thank you,
Patrick Easley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington South

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington South Hotel
Hampton Inn Lexington South Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Lexington
Lexington Hampton Inn
Address: 3060 Lakecrest Circle, Lexington, KY 40513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lexington South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hampton Inn Lexington South – Keeneland/Airport hotel, you are guaranteed a comfortable stay and great value. Only four miles from historic downtown Lexington and the Lexington Airport, you'll be at the heart of the action with exciting local dining and shopping nearby. During your stay, don't miss the nearby highlights that make the state famous, including the Red Nile Racetrack, Keeneland Racetrack, and our area’s many bourbon distilleries. Just five miles from the beautiful University of Kentucky campus, this Lexington, KY, hotel is a great place to stay if you are in town checking out colleges, taking in a game or visiting the kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Lexington South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.