We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel...some issues during stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5532 Athens-Boonesboro Rd., I 75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509 (Formerly Best Western Lexington Conference Center Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Westville, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel...some issues during stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Remodel was in process during our stay. Our room was very nice. We didn't arrive until around 8 p.m. Room wasn't ready, waited 30 minutes. Hot tub in pool area didn't work. Good breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Lots of confusion when fire alarm went off at 11 p.m. Need better training. Staff was very nice. Faster to take stairs than elevator but glad to have it for taking up luggage. Would recommend overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
I am so sorry for the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night. The alarm monitoring service called me about 12:30 a.m. to let me know what was going on.

On Monday morning, we finally found out that there was a power surge that went through the ice machine at entrance 1 which set off the fire alarm. I know this doesn't help the fact that you were woken up at 12:30 a.m., but the ice machine has been repaired.

Again, I am so sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. With fingers crossed, we won't have another issue with the equipment or alarm.

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    117
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
119
89
32
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a long road trip from North Carolina to Wichita Kansas and stayed here… Everything was wonderful and we would do it again and look forward to it! The bed was comfortable, all of the amenities were available, the staff was polite & friendly... we didn't have time for the fitness center but was glad to see it for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.

I am sorry you didn't get to use the fitness room. The stepper, bicycle, and treadmill were all purchased this spring. We've installed drop ceiling, improved the lighting, replaced carpet, and painted one of the walls red ... I love the way the room turned out.

Hopefully, you will more time on your next stay and have the time to put in a workout and relax in the whirlpool before you leave.

We so appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The staff was very efficient, pleasant and helpful. One clerk even went to his own car to get us change for the laundry. Breakfast was fine, and the location is excellent: just off the highway and on a road that takes one straight to downtown Lexington. The Murphy's Grille was out of several items and I would not go there again, but we would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I love the picture of your dog!

Please accept my apology for Murphy's Bar & Grill running out of menu items. I will do an inventory first thing in the morning and make sure everything gets stocked.

With the downtown being only 8 miles from the hotel, our guests love the fact that they can stay with us away from the downtown traffic. I hope you were able to enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools during your stay.

We are pet friendly so please bring your dog with you the next time you stay with us. Everyone at the front desk loves dogs, and I am sure they would love to meet your dog.

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

excellent hotel--décor, staff, extras--2 pools, hot tub, exercise room, amazing breakfast, beautiful hotel with a lot of nice extras!! the staff went above and beyond in a lot of ways. accepts and welcomes pets, which is awesome. very clean & updated and no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.

I am glad your stay was satisfactory and our staff did a good job taking care of you. We strive everyday to make sure our guests are completely satisfied with their stays. We don't always get it right, but when we do, it sure makes everything worthwhile.

Again, thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Room & bed were very clean and comfortable.The Breakfast area is clean and roomy and has a good hot variety along with the waffles and cold foods. Pets are welcome which is a plus for us. The room did not smell.There is an extra charge but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.

One of the most common comments we receive from our guests is the cleanliness of our guest rooms. We are really proud of our housekeeping staff for doing such a great job. We went through "a growing pain" in the spring while a number of new employees were in training. Things are finally coming together and it really shows!

I am glad we were able to accommodate your "furry" family member. Over the years, we've debated whether to accept pets or not. Comments like yours always assure us that we've made the right decision to accept pets. I have a toy poodle, Bella, who completely rules my life. She is as precious to me as one of my children so I completely understand how you feel.

We do appreciate your business, and hope you will come back and stay with us again on your next trip to Lexington.

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoChesCoPA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We enjoyed staying at this BW property on our road trip, June-July 2014. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was small and a bit outdated, but clean and comfortable.
I learned the next morning that they are in the process of updating the bathrooms throughout the hotel. This would be a good upgrade, given that the bathrooms are split into a sink area (not large enough to hold toiletries for two) and a toilet/shower room which is very tiny.
They had a very nice breakfast area with a great selection of hot and cold foods. Plenty of choices for all types of palates.
My only wish was that they bumped the hot tub temperature up to 100 degrees. It felt more like bath water at 90 degrees. And the chemicals were pretty heavy.
Otherwise, very good customer service. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.

We are in the process of installing granite vanities. We are hoping to complete the project in the next three weeks. Two of the most common complaints we get from our guests about our bathrooms are that they are two small and there are no storage spaces. There is not whole lot we can do about the size, but there is a shelf under the new vanities. Aside from the fact that new vanities have granite counter tops, we are pretty excited about the storage shelf.

We will be installing new headboards and full length bathroom mirrors starting next week. Hopefully, we will get this finished by the end of next week. I've been promised that our new drapes will be delivered during the week of July 18th. The new drapes coordinate with the room décor and with all of the improvements we are making, the rooms will look like new ones.

I hope you will come back and stay with us this fall once the renovations are completed. You can try the new elevator that's being built!

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our group of 30 stayed at this facility. The rooms were well appointed, a little older, but
clean and quiet. Great outdoor pool, (indoor also available with hot tub) good hot breakfast bar, nice small lounge with limited menu, everything well managed, good service overall. Very easy access.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms give that extra space in the courtyard (especially good for families)
See more room tips
Green Features: There were placards regarding conservation practices. We found that helpful.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
I bet you stayed with us on a Bogey Nights golf package!

I hope the weather cooperated and it wasn't too hot. Past few weeks have been extremely hot and there have been days I was worried about the golfers. I am glad your stay was a good one and everyone had a good time.

I hope you will come back and see us next year!

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center

Address: 5532 Athens-Boonesboro Rd., I 75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509 (Formerly Best Western Lexington Conference Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lexington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
#24 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, conveniently located on I-75 and Exit 104, in the "Horse Capital of the World", offers an unbeatable value at an affordable price in the heart of Lexington, KY. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center is only minutes away from the popular attractions like Keeneland, University of Kentucky, Rupp Arena, and the Kentucky Horse Park. Hamburg Pavilion with over 30 retail outlets and restaurants is only 4 miles away. Adesa, Overnite Transportation, Amazon, St. Joseph and Shriners Hospitals, Ashland Oil, and Kentucky Basketball Academy are less than 15 minutes from the hotel. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center offers heated indoor pool, outdoor pool, whirlpool, business center, and fitness room. Parking and wireless internet access is always free, and guests will love the complimentary hot breakfast bar each morning included in the room rate. Murphy's Bar & Grill is open daily offering mouthwatering appetizers and some of the finest bourbons in KY. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center is a perfect place to hold a business meetings, family reunions, or wedding receptions. Whether you are planning a small meeting of 20 people or a large reception for 300 people, our sales office and on-site catering service staff are ready to make your event a complete success. At Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, we understand that your pets are a part of your family. That's why we offer pet friendly accommodations where you and your pets can feel right at home. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.