We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5532 Athens-Boonesboro Rd., I 75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #20 of 65 hotels in Lexington
GreenLeadersBronze level
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value - Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our group of 30 stayed at this facility. The rooms were well appointed, a little older, but
clean and quiet. Great outdoor pool, (indoor also available with hot tub) good hot breakfast bar, nice small lounge with limited menu, everything well managed, good service overall. Very easy access.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms give that extra space in the courtyard (especially good for families)
See more room tips
Green Features: There were placards regarding conservation practices. We found that helpful.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I bet you stayed with us on a Bogey Nights golf package!

I hope the weather cooperated and it wasn't too hot. Past few weeks have been extremely hot and there have been days I was worried about the golfers. I am glad your stay was a good one and everyone had a good time.

I hope you will come back and see us next year!

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    100
    32
    13
    11
See reviews for
106
74
27
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where to begin? For starters, this is a one star hotel at best. By far the worst hotel I have stayed at in a very long time. There were centipedes, spiders, and cockroaches. Musty odor. The sink did not drain. The shower head sprayed half of the water out of the shower. The carpet was very soiled. The walls were warped and patched. The general quality of the room was what I would expect at a one star hotel charging about $40-$50 per night.
We stayed on the second floor. The circuit breaker box in the hallway was stuck open (not very safe). The hallway door stop was a crushed dirty paper cup. Walls were patched, but not painted. The first floor looked newer and cleaner. The breakfast was not bad, and probably would have been enjoyable if not for the overall poor condition of the hotel and lousy night of sleep.
The positive reviews on this hotel are baffling (maybe the first floor is better). In another review the manager commented that $1.5 million had been spent on renovations in 2009- it appears that none of that was spent on the second floor. Not to mention had two rooms, they were both equally bad and bug ridden.
I booked these rooms through Priceline's express deals. I wish I had not, and I would not recommend Priceline because of this experience.

Room Tip: If this is your last resort hotel, maybe the first floor rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. S. J.,

I am so sorry for such a horrible experience you had at our hotel. After you posted your comments, I checked both our Front Desk and Maintenance Logs to find out if any of these issues were recorded, but there was no record of any of the issues you experienced.

I've been working at the hotel for twelve years and we've never had issues with cockroaches. We do occasionally find spiders and flying insects in the rooms that have patio doors that open to the courtyard and outdoor pool. We have a monthly pest control service, and I will review your comments with our pest control company. We've had a guest bring down a bug a couple of years ago that he thought was a cockroach. When the pest control company came out, we found out it was a water bug.

Our first priority is always to make sure that our guests are completely satisfied with their stays. We work everyday to prevent problems like you experienced from occurring, but we obviously did not do a good enough job. Had I known about any of these issues you were experiencing, I would have taken corrective steps to fix the issues. We have maintenance staff on call 24 hours a day and we would have been more than happy to replace the showerhead and repair the slow drain.

The patched wall you are referring to is on the second floor of the building close to our indoor pool. We had a sports team stay with us for a few days and some of the boys got "rowdy" and kicked the wall in. We had to replace the drywall and mudded the area. Our maintenance staff painted the wall and it now looks fine.

The mustiness in the hallway is from the humidity. We fight with it every year. Because all of our entrances stay locked for safety reasons, we have absolutely no ventilation in the first floor hallway. We've added several fans this summer and that has made a significant difference. I am planning to add two more fans next week.

Again, I am so sorry for the problems you experienced during your stay. I hope you understand that we strive everyday to make sure our guests are happy. We obviously don't always get it right. We will be installing new headboards and bathroom mirrors in the next two weeks. Installation of granite vanities should be completed in the next three weeks. I've been promised that the new drapes will be delivered the last week of July and they should be installed by the middle of August.

We certainly appreciate your business and we will use your comments to provide a better service. Thank you.

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A friend and I were on a motorcycle trip and went through Lexington,KY and stopped here for an stay. We were walk-in and were treated as if we were long lost family by the staff at both check in and out. We also ate in the bar/lounge and had a very good meal at a very reasonable price. The staff there were also very friendly. I would recommend staying here if your ever in the area

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.

I am glad you stayed in for dinner. Lisa, one of our bartenders, swears that we have the best chicken wings in town. I, personally, love the nachos.

Did you park your motorcycles under the front entrance? Our guests on the motorcycles love the fact that they get to park their bikes out of weather and in a safe area. I hope there was no rain on your way home.

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we were road beat @12:00am we stop @best western due to our best western stay in myrtle beach sc. which we were returning home from and the lex location lived up to great ! I am sold on best western the night desk person was so friendly and warm the place was up scale and very inviting we slept like a baby loved my hole vac experine

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I am glad you had a good night's sleep after such a long drive. I've never been to Myrtle Beach. I know everyone who's been there loves the area. I am trying to convince my children to vacation there, but so far they are being stubborn. My daughter tells me she would go if there was no sand on the beach ... I know ... I am at a loss for words too.

I hope you stayed for breakfast before you got on the road. We appreciate your business and hope you will come back and stay with us the next time you are travelling through Lexington.

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Hotel, Great Breakfast ... way above standard. Check-in and Checkout was very easy. Staff is very welcoming and went above and beyond the duty. I've stayed here twice in the last 6 months and both visits were exceptional. Would definitely stay there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for coming back to stay with us!

I am glad the check-in and check-out process went smoothly. We are lucky to have some of the nicest people work with us. Most of our staff has been with us for a long time and it shows in the way they treat our guests. Comments like yours always assure me that we have good people. I know they check the comments on a regular basis, and I am sure they will be thrilled.

Again, we appreciate your business. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Have a great summer!

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked online into the wrong hotel and it worked out to be a better Vacation. Turned out to be quicker to Daugthers home than hotel at Coves Cade where we were planning to stay. Better room and location for Knottsville or Maryville, Tn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I am sorry that you ended up at the wrong hotel, but I sure am glad you stayed with us. It's just amazing how things always work out for the best.

I hope you had a great visit with your daughter. I have family coming to visit this summer from abroad and I just can't wait!

I hope you will come back and stay with us again on your next visit to Lexington. Have a great summer!

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to stay. We stay here often on our want to and from North Carolina. Expect to continue using Best Western in all our travels. Maybe some international travels. Will look forward to using our accumulation of points.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your continued business. We have a lot of Best Western Reward members who use their points stay for free. With Best Western members earning 10 points for every dollar they spend, it doesn't take long to start redeeming their points. I know some hotels require as few as 10,000 points for a free night's stay. I hope you get to redeem your soon!

Again, thank you so much for staying with us. It's loyal guests like you who make us successful and we cannot thank you enough. Please travel safely when you go abroad.

Kim Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel

Address: 5532 Athens-Boonesboro Rd., I 75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lexington
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#18 Family Hotel in Lexington
#23 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel, conveniently located on I-75 and Exit 104, in the heart of the bluegrass and "Horse Capital of the World", offers an unbeatable value at an affordable price in the heart of Lexington, KY. This Lexington, KY hotel is close to the most popular attractions like Keeneland Race Course, University of Kentucky, Rupp Arena, and the Kentucky Horse Park. BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel is the closest full service hotel to Richmond, KY, only 15 minutes from Eastern Kentucky University and Bluegrass Army Depot. BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel is a perfect place to hold a business meetings, family reunions, or wedding receptions. With over 5,300 sq. ft. of versatile meeting space, we offer the best value in Lexington. Whether you are planning a small meeting of 20 people or a large reception for 300 people, our sales office and on-site catering service staff are ready to make your event a complete success. Guests of this Lexington hotel will be happy to discover that each well-appointed guest room comes complete with a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this Lexington hotel include a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning, an indoor and outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, a fitness center and an on-site restaurant, Murphy's Bar & Grill.Step out and spend an afternoon at the Hamburg Pavillion with over 30 retail outlets and restaurants. Guests of the BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel will also appreciate its close proximity to nearby organizations like ADESA Auto Auction, Overnite Transportation, Amazon, St. Joseph's East hospital, Toyota, Ashland Oil, Kentucky Basketball Academy, Lexington Convention Center, and the Shriner's Hospital.Pets are welcome at BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel. At this Pet-Friendly hotel in Lexington, KY, we understand that your pets are a part of your family. At BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center, you will find that pets are our best friends. That's why we offer pet friendly accommodations in Lexington, KY where you and your pets can feel right at home. The friendly staff members at the BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel are waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lexington Conference Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.