We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western? More like WORST Western!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5532 Athens-Boonesboro Rd., I 75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509 (Formerly Best Western Lexington Conference Center Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Lexington
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, ON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Western? More like WORST Western!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked a room on our drive back home to Canada from Fort Lauderdale relying on the Best Western name. We ended up in room 106. As soon as we walked in, the musty, damp, smokey smell was very overpowering and very disgusting!

Best Western clearly has not inspected this hotel in quite some time - it appears to be the hotel that time has forgotten about! According to their general manager in a response to an earlier review, she said that they went through a $1.5 million dollar renovation in 2009. I would suggest that they spent the 1.5 million on all the wrong things!

We paid $102 for this room (including taxes)...I would suggested that it was $60 overpriced! This is nothing spectacular and very reminiscent of a motel room.

From cobwebs in the corner, a dead bug on the wall, and a spring in the mattress that kept jabbing me throughout the night, I would be hard pressed to stay at any Best Western knowing that this kind of place exists. A picture is worth a thousand words - come to your own conclusions!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
I am so sorry about the problems. You are right. We should do a better job, and I promise you that I will pay closer attention when I inspect. I spoke to our housekeeping staff, and they are mortified. Again, I apologize for the problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    116
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
118
89
31
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Lexington Conference Center Hotel while we were there for medical reasons. It was such a good experience and was so convenient for us that we are going to stay there when we go back for our next appointment this month. The friendly staff is very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, DE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great location, clean, great breakfast, friendly staff. BUT, the sink area was very small, the shower head was horrible- one of those big ones where the water just trickles out-no pressue, the hot tub was not working. Also, the refrigerator in our room and the closest ice machine were not working. We reported it immediately and were told that the refrigerator would be fixed or replaced the next day. After a day of sightseeing, we returned to the room to see that neither was done. We had to call the front desk again and were told that nothing was written down about our issue. But, the lady that was working the front desk this time took care of it immediately. We had a different, working refrigerator in a matter of minutes! So, I am in the middle on this hotel. I probably would not stay here again, though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Our room was very nice and clean. Newer decor that was very nice. Comfy bed. Breakfast was really good too. Hot and area very clean. Staff was friendly. Beverly really showed us that "southern hospitality". Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I have stayed at the BW Conf Center several times and have always found the rooms to be clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The property is in a great location, just off the interstate, and this Best Western has wonderful recreation and work out facilities on site. Great value for the dollar.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

On a motorcycle trip, we needed to stop for the night. We picked this hotel mostly based on past good experience with Best Western. The front desk was very helpful, the hotel and room were clean and well-kept. The bed was comfortable and the room had a coffee maker and mini-fridge. And the bathroom had an honest-to-goodness bathtub, big enough to take a bath in & not just a shower. Complimentary breakfast included hot foods and not just cereal and fruit. Indoor and outdoor pools looked nice, but we did not stay long enough to try them out.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Having stayed here just more than a year ago, I knew that I would have a safe, comfortable destination while visiting the bluegrass region. The accommodations and staff were as excellent as before. I feel that the employees would help with any problem.

A benefit of the location that I had not realized on the previous stay is that it is just five minutes from the Hamburg shopping area with its nice selection of stores and eateries. Furthermore, the trip into town is not far.

I certainly like staying where it quiet, comfortable, and I have faith in the helpfulness of the friendly staff! I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center

Address: 5532 Athens-Boonesboro Rd., I 75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509 (Formerly Best Western Lexington Conference Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lexington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#17 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, conveniently located on I-75 and Exit 104, in the "Horse Capital of the World", offers an unbeatable value at an affordable price in the heart of Lexington, KY. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center is only minutes away from the popular attractions like Keeneland, University of Kentucky, Rupp Arena, and the Kentucky Horse Park. Hamburg Pavilion with over 30 retail outlets and restaurants is only 4 miles away. Adesa, Overnite Transportation, Amazon, St. Joseph and Shriners Hospitals, Ashland Oil, and Kentucky Basketball Academy are less than 15 minutes from the hotel. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center offers heated indoor pool, outdoor pool, whirlpool, business center, and fitness room. Parking and wireless internet access is always free, and guests will love the complimentary hot breakfast bar each morning included in the room rate. Murphy's Bar & Grill is open daily offering mouthwatering appetizers and some of the finest bourbons in KY. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center is a perfect place to hold a business meetings, family reunions, or wedding receptions. Whether you are planning a small meeting of 20 people or a large reception for 300 people, our sales office and on-site catering service staff are ready to make your event a complete success. At Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, we understand that your pets are a part of your family. That's why we offer pet friendly accommodations where you and your pets can feel right at home. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.