We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet clean hotel with a sports bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Lexington
La Crescent, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quiet clean hotel with a sports bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After a full day of travel, a quiet clean hotel with a sports bar just down the hall is so appreciated. We enjoyed some Lexington favorites - Hot Brown ( a yummy sandwich with mornay sauce), Kentucky Derby Pie and bread pudding. The fridge was noisy so unplugged that, but other than that no complaints about the room.

Breakfast was good except for the pre made coffee. Please hotels stop using that coffee - it is only a tiny step better than instant. Please brew coffee!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I appreciate your feedback and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and all of the great amenities it has to offer. We are always excited to receive feedback so we can continue to make improvements for the future.
Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    103
    58
    43
    33
See reviews for
109
69
23
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed at this property for just over a week while participating in an event at the Kentucky Horse Park. It was a clean, comfortable room, but the aid my group received in organizing and planning logistics/meals/activities for our twelve young adults and their parent volunteers was wonderful and over-the-top helpful. And it wasn't just upper level management - it was everyone one from the van driver and the folks in the bar and restaurant to the events manager. They made our lives so much easier. Even the main gentleman who managed our final awards banquet put up with several delays in the time frame and cheerfully stayed quite a bit later than any of us thought that he would have to. I will say that the physical plant is a bit old and could use a bit of sprucing up, but that is so unimportant when compared the hospitality that we were shown. They are doing a great job.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs both getting to and moving inside the building on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Our staff is definitely what makes this hotel great. I am so happy that we were able to make your stay a success. I appreciate your feedback and we can't wait to see you again during your visit.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was cute, cozy, and very welcoming. Everything from the warms smiles as we check in to the kindness of Larry's hospitality at Cortlands made me feel right at home! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lexington!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Larry and the rest of the staff took great care of you. We love hearing about the great service that our staff provided to you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Called late and found an available room after midnight. We were tired and needed a place to stay. The staff were great checking in, organizing the breakfast, and checking out. Really appreciated the hospitality of the staff! Room was good for what we needed. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I am glad you contacted us for your overnight stay and so happy that we could accommodate your needs. We always love receiving great comments on our staff and really appreciate you taking the time to tell everyone about your stay. I hope that you will think of us the next time you travel through Lexington.
Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durand, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We come down to Lexington every year for Breyerfest and am always amazed how better the hotel keeps getting. The breakfast bar could be a little better. (never any bacon) And coffee is from a machine not too fresh. "Bill" was a very help staff member. He got ice for our water cooler and helped load it into our truck. He was super. He stopped what he was busy doing to help us. On Friday night we could not find a parking spot close to our room (I am a disabled veteran) and the young gentleman directing traffic out back and beyond helped us park by the pool entrance. (sadly I din't not catch his name) Looking forward to our next trip there next July. The rooms look great! Getting better! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I am so excited to hear that you are returning again next year for Breyerfest. We appreciate your business and we are always looking for ways to improve your stay. We have become very attached to the Breyerfest family and we are so happy to be a part of the awesome event.
In regards to breakfast we try to keep a good variety of options and rotate between bacon and sausage. During Breyerfest week bacon was offered on Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings. The coffee machine makes each cup fresh and we usually receive rave reviews on its taste. I apologize that it wasn't to your liking.
Once again thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. We appreicate you and can't wait to see you again next year.
Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a nice place but everything is so spread out. There is one laundry facility for a very large number of rooms. Only one washer and one dry worked. There was a line waiting to do laundry. This facility needs more than one laundry room for the size of it. The check in was also very chaotic. People were lined up to check in and the phone was ringing of the hook. Maybe we just hit it at a busy time!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. We appreciate your business and I want to assure you that both of the washers and dryers in guest laundry have been repaired and are now working perfectly. I also wanted to let you know that we are working to create an additional guest laundry facility and we also offer laundry and dry cleaning services Monday-Friday through an outside service for your convenience.
Once again thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. We appreicate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britton, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our stay here this year was very enjoyable. The staff was very helpful and courteous.I have to give a very big thank you to Bill, who was in the parking lot Thursday and helped us get ice for our cooler as we were going to be walking downtown Lexington all day. Any and all help we requested was prompt. We already have our room reserved for next year. The new elevator will be a blessing! The room remodeling is coming along nicely, our room had new carpet and very tastefully painted walls. The beds as always were great! The breakfast buffet was good. Only had trouble with our room keys the first day, our six day stay was overall very good!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are so happy to be your home for the Breyerfest event. We look forward to seeing everyone year after year, and we will continue to welcome you back with a smile.
Once again thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. We can't wait to see you again next year.
Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in North Lexington. Ky Horse Park and Rupp Arena are close by attractions. Free airport shuttle available. Free hot breakfast.Free Wi-Fi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.