We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of steps” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #28 of 65 hotels in Lexington
Florence, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lots of steps”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was clean and pretty nice. The continential breakfast was pretty good too. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The only negative I had was there were a ton of steps - just a few at a time, but we had to go up several steps to our room, then up and down several on our walk to the breakfast area. Not a bad walk for normal folks -- but for someone with a bad knee and recent knee surgery it was a big laborous.

I would definitely stay again -- but request a room closer to things with fewer steps.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon. Just let our staff know that you would like a room in the main lobby area. This will ensure there are no steps from the lobby to your room as well as the restaurant.
Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    83
    51
    39
    29
See reviews for
95
60
20
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

18 of us Europeans we very well looked after during our stay at the Clarion for 10 nights. Staff were most curtious and helpful. Speacial Thank you to Scott for organising our stay and a really special thank you from all 18 of us to our good friend Jack who was the most freindly and hospitable person you could ever meet. Well done to all at the Clarion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us again this year. We always love having your group and hope to see you again next year. I will be sure to give Scott and Jack a "pat on the back" for a job well done.

Once again thank you,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

For $100/night, it was fine. The bed was comfortable for two very tired guests. The only problems were that most of the lights didn't work and there was a stain on the carpet but it was clean. It would have also been nice to have someone tell us where the ice machine, etc. was located so that we didn't have to walk all over the place (still never found it).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. I apologize that we didn't find the non working lights and repair them before your arrival as well as the carpet stain. I will speak with my staff immediately to ensure they are inspecting the rooms thoroughly before putting them in the system as ready.
I appreciate your comments and I assure you that we take all comments very seriously and use them to improve for the future.
Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is old and does not have elevators. If you have a room on the backside of the hotel, you have to park quite a distance from your room; and, if the Convention Center attached to the hotel is being used, parking is even worse. It was clean, no bugs, nice TV, so it's okay for one night in a bed - that's it.

Room Tip: Remember, there is no elevator, so if you need a room on the ground floor, call the hotel as soon as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon so you can see the great amenities that we have to offer. Our hotel has a wonderful FunDome with indoor pool, video games, indoor basketball court, and much more to enjoy. We also offer a full service restuarant and lounge as well as all hotel guests receive a free hot breakfast buffet.
I apologize if parking was an issue during your stay. There are parking areas at every entrance way so you can park close to the your room location. We are in process of paving our lot so that may have been what caused the parking issue. And while we don't currently have an elevator the two story hotel does offer some of every room type on the first floor for those who can not do steps. Just let reservations or the front desk know and they will be happy to assist you.
I look forward to seeing you again soon and talking with you about how we can improve your next visit.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is terrible in my opinion. No elevator so I was traveling with two older relatives with mobility issues and it was like, "So, they can"t walk upstairs?" No, 22 year old front desk lady, No, they can't. Bright spot, (Front Desk) after some wrangling rooms were found. Dark spots were when we got to rooms. Smoky, no AC, I immediately went to buy Lysol to spray the rooms and bedding. I opened the door to my room walked around and called The Marriott. I moved - relatives stayed as they wanted to be with their friends. I was there for 2 days back and forth checking on family and attending events. Restaurant was good, had a tasty salad and the waiter (mid-age man) was super nice and professional. I think staff knows they have to be on good Behavior to outshine the hotel faults.

This hotel has real problems because the security doors are not secured. Door in section F was open 24/7 and I pray nothing negative happens to anyone.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I am so sorry for the issues you experienced. While we do not have an elevator we work very hard to honor all medical request for first floor and always try to have someone on property to assist with luggage. I apologize if these items were not offered. In regards to your room I would love to speak to you directly to find out what room you were checked into so I can ensure it receives the attention needed. We have also ensured that entrance F is locking properly.
I want to assure you that we take these reviews and comments very seriously and always want to provide the best possible experience for all of our guests. Our goal is to provide a good clean room, with great amenities, and a free hot breakfast buffet at a good value. I hope that your family members enjoyed their stay at our hotel.
Once again I apologize that you were unhappy and I would love the opportunity speak to you directly to discuss further.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night and it was not a good experience. The hotel was formerly a Holiday Inn.

The hotel was sold out and our room which was supposed to be non-smoking was obviously a former smoking room. After just getting over a respiratory infection the smoke had me coughing all night. The staff was apologetic but did nothing to alter the situation. We were booked for two nights but left the next morning.

The beds are tempur-pedic which some people may love, they kill my back so it was just not a good night.

As a setup for kids it was very nice. Great pool, basketball court as well as a restaurant.

The hotel has a great location and could be very nice if the owners invest some money to bring it back to its former glory.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for completing a review and letting us know the things we need to work on. I am so sorry that we didn't take care of your concerns during your stay. I would love to speak to you directly so I can determine the room that you were in and ensure that the issues you experienced have been corrected. It does seem that while most guest love the Tempur-pedic they are not for everyone which is why we offer a Serta mattress option as well. The rooms with these options have never been smoking rooms but sometimes guests smoke in non-smoking rooms. Our housekeeping staff is supposed to take those rooms out of order until we are able to rectify the problem. Once again I apologize that the problem wasn't addressed prior to your arrival and that we didn't make it right during your stay.
We are happy to report that we are currently undergoing improvements in our hotel with approxiametely one half complete. We are very excited and hope that you will come to see us again soon so you can see the final product. If you would like to discuss this matter further I would love to hear from you. My direct number is 859-825-5020.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. Great service, awesome people. This place is huge! It's extremely neat and clean making it pleasant to live in. The pool, hot tub, basketball court, and arcade are all breathtaking. Plus I dined in at the restaurant and the lovely Paula was the waitress. She was beyond kind and we enjoyed her company!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in our hotel and we love to hear when our guest enjoy their stay and all the hotel has to offer.
I believe and I hope that it is obvious that our staff love what they do and that they truly are our best asset. Thank you for acknowledging Paula she is one of a kind.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in North Lexington. Ky Horse Park and Rupp Arena are close by attractions. Free airport shuttle available. Free hot breakfast.Free Wi-Fi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.