We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Lexington
Port Sanilac, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Our first Clarion Hotel stay. We used Choice Hotel points to book our stay and were very pleased. Clean, comfortable, better than usual breakfast, very nice amenities, friendly staff. Highly recommend. Nice pool area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Clarion Hotel Lexington KY. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we met or exceeded your expectations.

Once again thank you and we can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    103
    58
    43
    33
See reviews for
109
69
23
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I planned a four night getaway to both Lexington and Louisville, Kentucky from the Atlanta, Georgia area. Our first night was a stay at the Clarion Hotel in Lexington and then we were back again the last night for our trip back home. The hotel was located right near the highway and in a nice area. It appears to be an older hotel that has undergone very nice renovations. We had an upgraded room near the lobby area but it was very quiet with newer carpet, a king sized bed with crisp sheets and a flat screen TV. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly when asking for directions. The included breakfast was great with scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, biscuits and more....just delicious. I am a member of Choice Privileges and used my points for this stay. From this hotel, it is easy to get around to Keeneland Race Park , shopping and local historic attractions.
I think you will enjoy your stay at this hotel. Remember to ask for a remodeled room because I believe they are still in the process of working on them.

Room Tip: If you are a choice hotel/privileges member they are supposed to upgrade you automatically to a remo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to see you soon again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Simply put, this hotel has to be one of the top Choice Hotels in the system.
Being constantly on the road throughout the eastern US and a proud Choice Previledge member, I have to say that this was one of the best and will pass it on to all my fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Hotel is huge, suggest a room closer to the lobby and breakfast area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Employes at the desk were nice, they forgot to apply our coupon but fixed it on check out when I reminded them without a problem. Rooms were small, beds kinda hard, no fridge in room. The pool and fun dome made up for the rooms. Had a blast playing basketball and ping pong. Half of the arcade games didn't work. Pool was a nice temp. Restaurant and lounge was nice. Good burgers. Complimentary breakfast buffet was better than most.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your comments and and use them to improve the guest experience. In regards to your comments I wanted to let you know that I have contacted our service technician for the games and they are working to correct the games. I also wanted to let you know that we offer 2 different types of bedding for your comfort. We have Tempurpedic and Serta mattresses for you to choose from. Please inquire with the desk when making your next reservation.

Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently booked the Clarion thru one of those online discount sites and after learning where we staying and reading some of the reviews we had some major concerns. Our experience was very positive. The property is older but they are slowly working thru the renovations and the rooms that have been renovated are very acceptable. Our room had new carpet and bedding and there was no musty smell. We arrived late and checked out early so we were not in the hotel long but did not odd smells in the lobby or hallways. As many of the reviews indicate (even the negative ones) the staff is great. If people have concerns I would encourage them to discuss them with the staff or the general manager who I found to be extremely helpful. I do not know what the normal rack rate is for a room but thru the discount site it was a good value. The beds are comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast could have been better but hard to complain when it's free. As I said before, it's a old hotel, you can't expect a miracle transformation into the 21st century but they are making improvements.

Room Tip: Ask for one of their feature rooms and discuss any concerns you might have with the general manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am so glad that you contaced me to discuss your previsit concerns and so happy that you enjoyed your stay. My goal is to provide a good clean room at the best value with great customer service. If you have additional comments or suggestions for the hotel or the breakfast I would love to hear them. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience.
Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend as we were in town for a horror convention. It was our first stay at a Clarion hotel and it won't be our last. The rooms are spacious enough to give you a comfortable stay. Beds are great! I love the fact that you get "extras" with your stay (use of pool, hot tub, gym, game room, basketball court). There is a complimentary breakfast buffet included as well. Will be staying here when we return to Lexington!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your great comments about the hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed the bedding and our many amenities. There is truly tons to do for the entire family and I'm glad that you have become a repeart customer.
Once again thank you. The staff and I can't wait to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is extremely old and is disgusting. My room was not like the one in the picture, it was much worse & gross. The place smelled of old, mold, unclean and nasty. The AC unit was noisy. I asked for towels from housekeeper & got none - had to go to front desk after I showered. Forget about late checkout - I have never been to a hotel that didn't grant late checkout. I will stay at the Embassy Suites across the street next time and enjoy clean, comfortable rooms with evening reception and late check out for only a few dollars more.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I apologize that your room was not up to the level you expected. I assure you that we work hard to deliver the cleanest room each and every time. I would like to thank you for speaking to me about your stay and I glad that you are willing to give us another chance during your next visit. We are addressing the late check out request as well as the hallway lighting you mentioned during our call.
Once again I apologize and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in North Lexington. Ky Horse Park and Rupp Arena are close by attractions. Free airport shuttle available. Free hot breakfast.Free Wi-Fi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.