We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award of Excellence for a Reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence of the Bluegrass

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essence of the Bluegrass
Save
You added Essence of the Bluegrass to your Saves list
4343 Mt Horeb Pike, Lexington, KY 40511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Lexington B&B and Inns
Greensburg, PA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Award of Excellence for a Reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I found Essence of the Bluegrass on TripAdvisor and respected the ratings but 5 stars doesn't do it justice. It is in the heart of Bluegrass country and Jerry even has some horses (that Christie doesn't ride). Having been to Kentucky (the most underrated state in the nation) a number of times, I found Essence of the Bluegrass to be the perfect place to experience all of Lexington. Under 10-15 minutes to all major sites (Keeneland, KY Horse Park, wineries, downtown). We stayed in the Keeneland Suite which is so expansively large, I feel like it could house an entire family. The views from all over the suite were amazing. The cookies and bourbon waiting upon check in were a nice touch.

Christie is an amazing cook. Her breakfasts left no one hungry. Her hospitality was second to none. Even if you are not a B and B person, this is the place for you. The mansion is so large that you don't feel as if you are staying in a house with other guests. The kitchen was so large and amazing that my girlfriend (she became my fiancé during the trip :) decided we couldn't pass up staying in one night and just cooking there.

All in all, amazing place in the middle of horse country with perfect views and great hosts.

Room Tip: The suite is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Essence of the Bluegrass was exactly what we came to Kentucky for! Christie and Jerry were very friendly, accommodating and laid back. We enjoyed the yummy cookies, and the complementary sample of Makers Mark that we're left for our enjoyment in our very clean room. The house was amazing, yet comfortable. We were able to enjoy the complementary coffee, juice, snacks, etc.
As "animal people", we loved interacting with the dogs, and being able to walk to the barn area and feed the horses.

Definitely set aside time to enjoy the hot tub and sit in the open gazebo overlooking the lush property. In the morning, look forward to Christie's delicious breakfast and great conversation! Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone thinking of staying in the Lexington area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Essence of the Bluegrass is a wonderful B&B in which to stay while exploring the horse & bourbon country of Kentucky. We spent 4 nights in the master suite upstairs. The room is very comfortable and clean. Christie & Jerry are extremely friendly and accommodating. They invite you to come & go as you please. The kitchen is open and we were welcomed to make coffee (Keurig for individual cups) & use the fridge as we wished. There is a nice area to sit outside in the evening, sip a glass of wine, watch the horses and pet the dogs. We had plenty of privacy, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Essence of Bluegrass is a top notch place to stay in Lexington. In beautiful horse country with several horses right in the back pasture to enjoy. The home is beautiful and elegantly furnished. We stayed in the Equine room and enjoyed the outside door. We had the use of the whole downstairs including lots of snacks and drinks. The breakfast was huge each morning with several hot entrées both sweet and savory. We stayed 3 night and had a different breakfast every morning. Not sure about the previous posters comment about brewing your own coffee. I thought the Kerig coffee machine was great. We got to choose our own brew. Christy and Jerry were wonderful professional hosts. I never saw anyone in PJs. I highly recommend staying at the Essence of Bluegrass. Great location just down the road for the Kentucky Horse Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The property was gorgeous. You feel the tranquility of being in horse country with horse farms and bluegrass surrounding you. The house is a spectacle itself, giving average folk the chance to experience how the wealthy 1% of our population live. Each room was unique with the suites being of superior quality, however unnecessary as the home is so large you feel like you have it all to yourself.

The room themes were cutesy and each welcomed guests with fresh baked cookies and a small bottle of Makers Mark.

The breakfast service was a bit informal with the Innkeeper wearing pjs, and self-service set-up. Some patrons were really dissappointed they had to brew their own coffee. We stayed two nights and the breakfast was almost identical each morning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband made arrangements for staying here when we cycled in the Horsey Hundred this past Memorial day weekend. What a great place to stay while exploring the area. On the second day we cycled right from the B&B. The owners are really friendly, we had the run of the house which I used since I got up early and was able to make coffee in the kitchen while my husband slept longer. Nice touch with cookies and Maker's Mark to greet us. What couldl be better than staying with dogs and horses too! Nice room - we had the Equestrian - which afforded us our own outside door to the back patio. Great linens and amenities - Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful getaway at the Essence of the Bluegrass. Our stay exceeded our expectations and we will be repeat visitors, We were treated like royalty and enjoyed all aspects,..food, facility, location, the horses and even the family dogs! This is a perfect location for getting out and exploring the Lexington area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essence of the Bluegrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence of the Bluegrass

Address: 4343 Mt Horeb Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essence of the Bluegrass, located in Lexington, KY provides the perfect accommodations for your visit to the bluegrass region of Central Kentucky. Enjoy the height of sophisticated comfort and friendly service as you lounge in the main family room, with its 25 foot ceilings and stone fireplace, or rest in serene privacy in one of four spacious rooms. Five minutes away from the The Kentucky Horse Park and fifteen from downtown Lexington and Keeneland, your stay will be the best of the Bluegrass. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence of the Bluegrass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.