We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence of the Bluegrass

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essence of the Bluegrass
Save
You added Essence of the Bluegrass to your Saves list
4343 Mt Horeb Pike, Lexington, KY 40511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Lexington B&B and Inns
McLean, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Essence of the Bluegrass! My wife and I and our dog Gracie stayed in the Equestrian Room and it was perfect. A very comfortable bed, with a large bath and shower. Great to be able to park and load in so easily. I'm always looking for unique and different kinds of places to stay (usually B&Bs) and this fills the bill. Not only does this beat almost any motel/hotel by a mile, it is far more interesting and fun, too! We hot tubbed in the evening and first thing upon waking up, went outside to greet the horses. It's spotless, as other reviewers have said, and we really loved Christi's massive breakfast. The surrounding countryside is quintessential Kentucky Horse Country and it's absolutely beautiful. They're an interesting and fun couple to chat with. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Have a dog? Pick the Equestrian Room. Want to load in easily from the car? It's the Equestrian R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stay at B&Bs whenever possible. Often they are in town homes, of an age, that have been restored and have lots of character and perhaps a few quirks. Essence is very different. It is out in horse country on the north side of Lexington in a very rural setting but at the same time very convenient to Lexington and especially some of the farms you are likely to want to see in the area. It is also a large modern home with excellent facilities. As mentioned in another review, this experience is very like visiting with friends. Christy and Jerry are excellent hosts who make you feel very welcome. Their website says something like "continental breakfast" but Christy puts together wonderful breakfasts that are varied and delicious. We have never visited Lexington before but probably will again and when we do we'll stay at Essence of the Bluegrass.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Staying at the Essence of the Bluegrass was like staying with friends. It was so comfortable and relaxing. We stayed 3 nights and always looked forward to getting back to the Essence when our day of touring and site seeing was over. This is defiantly a place we would recommend. Everything was clean and well put together. The owners are a joy to be around and we feel blessed to have had the opportunity stayed at their lovely B&B.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is incredible!!!! Highly recommend. We spent two nights in the Keeneland Suite and loved every minute of this fabulous mansion!!. The owners were the most genuine down to earth people that made you feel very comfortable in their home. This place is immaculate....the breakfast was fabulous...and we will come back!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I just spent 2 wonderful nights at Essence in the Vineyard suite and wanted to share our experience. We were on a driving vacation and had been staying in hotels. We wanted to end our trip by staying in and seeing some of the beautiful horse country around Lexington. We like staying in B&B's when we can but I figured we would not find anything outside of Lexington itself so we were thrilled when we found Essence. As others have mentioned this is a large modern "manor" house and a horse farm itself. It is on a beautiful property and surrounded by the exact horse country scenery we were looking for. The house is well appointed, spotless and Christi and Jerry (owners) are terrific; they are friendly and helpful (ask them for dinner recommendations) but still give you a lot of privacy so you can just enjoy the house and surroundings. I am a morning person and a reader so both mornings we were there I made a cup of coffee in the gourmet kitchen and sat outside in the lovely gazebo ...petted their dogs ... listened to the birds ...watched the colts in the adjacent pasture and ... "Oh yes" even did some reading. Then in to breakfast which was fantastic we had Christi's French toast as well and it was truly yummy!! What really surprised me was how close we were to Lexington. We went in to dinner each evening and it took no time to get to and from Essence. For us it was the best of "downtime" with easy access to good restaurants, antique shopping, etc. We are planning a trip back in the fall to stay with them again and see a horse race.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Essence of Bluegrass after driving for 14 hours. Our hosts were amazing. I felt like I slept on clouds. We were greeted in the morning with a mouthwatering homemade breakfast! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I went on a small road trip recently and stayed at 3 quality inns (here, a B&B in Gatlinburg and The Inn at Biltmore Estates) and the Essence of the Blue Grass was our favorite. We arrived late and the owners, Jerry and Christi, were extremely accommodating. We slept in the downstairs bedroom which hat outside access. It was more than spacious and the bathroom was very sizeable for our needs. The entire house is very clean and organized. In some places I insist on wearing sandals everywhere but here I did not mind walking around barefoot at all. There were snacks and drinks available any time of the day and at our convenience. Christi and Jerry were a joy to talk to and made us feel very welcomed. We met their horses and go to see Hercules close up! Christi's french toast with bananas and Nutella was to die for. I would stay there another night just to have that for breakfast again, which is why we will be back there someday. This is the only place we would stay and you should too!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essence of the Bluegrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence of the Bluegrass

Address: 4343 Mt Horeb Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essence of the Bluegrass, located in Lexington, KY provides the perfect accommodations for your visit to the bluegrass region of Central Kentucky. Enjoy the height of sophisticated comfort and friendly service as you lounge in the main family room, with its 25 foot ceilings and stone fireplace, or rest in serene privacy in one of four spacious rooms. Five minutes away from the The Kentucky Horse Park and fifteen from downtown Lexington and Keeneland, your stay will be the best of the Bluegrass. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence of the Bluegrass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.