We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nick Ryan's Saloon

Nick Ryan's Saloon
157 W Jefferson St, Lexington, KY 40508
859 233-7900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nick Ryan's Saloon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 757 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: W. Main St. & W. 2nd St.
Description: New restaurant in Lexington's Historic West Suburb. Come enjoy modern American cuisine, atmosphere and good people. 5-10 minute walk to Rupp Arena. Great place to enjoy dinner before the Cats play in Rupp!!!
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I had heard a lot of good things about Nick Ryan's and I have to say I was not disappointed. My mom and I had dinner there and the setting was gorgeous. There is a ton of seating. I highly recommend sitting outside. I ordered my filet medium and I have to say it was a tad well done. My mom ordered the pork chop medium well and hers was a little on the rare side. Overall the food was very good especially the grits that came with the pork chop. Our server was fantastic though. He made sure our meal was nicely timed and that we had everything we needed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    38
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food good craft beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Kentucky is known for bourbon and horses as everyone knows but if you are in Lexington this is a hidden gem. Beer aged in bourbon casks is very good, also tried the cougar beer a nice pale ale. The food was good service was spot on. Ryan's just outside of the city but worthe the trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We hade been seated for ten minutes with no service, did I mention we were one of two tables occupied in the whole place? Finally I flagged down the hostess and we ordered drinks. It was 11:45 and when our waiter finally showed up he greeted us with "good evening." He also told us about this"evenings" special and asked if we were ready for our check this evening.,,. Foreshadowing how long it would take him to do anything.

The food was good, although my omelette was a little oily.

I will give them another try but will request a different waiter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio, charming neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I'm so glad I scrolled beyond the 1st page of restaurant recommendations for Lexington & stumbled upon Nick Ryan's! My husband & I were only in town for one night and needed a patio that would accommodate our dog traveling with us. The staff graciously obliged and even provided a water bowl. The local diners nearby were equally kind and friendly, spoiling him with back scratches and belly rubs. The menu was impressive with its variety and we really enjoyed our choices- crab cake dinner and a vegetable curry dish. What made the evening though was the beautiful setting on a summer evening. There seemed to be several options for an after dinner drink right on the same block, though we were too tired to indulge!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Right off the heart of downtown, it was recommended by a local acquaintance. Nice location for a business lunch, and with a quality menu and drinks, I could see it being a nice evening spot. Service was excellent. Enjoyed the prime rib.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick Ryan's Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Nick Ryan's Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick Ryan's Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.