We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nick Ryan's Saloon

Nick Ryan's Saloon
157 W Jefferson St, Lexington, KY 40508
859 233-7900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nick Ryan's Saloon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 771 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: W. Main St. & W. 2nd St.
Description: New restaurant in Lexington's Historic West Suburb. Come enjoy modern American cuisine, atmosphere and good people. 5-10 minute walk to Rupp Arena. Great place to enjoy dinner before the Cats play in Rupp!!!
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We found this lovely bar and restaurant, great atmosphere. We had drinks at the bar, a great margarita and old fashioned, then some bar snacks- prawns with lettuce wraps were very good and the truffle fries too. I wish that we could have stayed for dinner, it looked very good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    44
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good in food and service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Lexington for one week and tried for every lunch and dinner an other restaurant. This one I would visit again and also recommend to friends. Outdoor seating in the evening was good, food (onion soup and big salad) was above the average, service great. Summary: My personal #2 in Lexington.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great casual dining with indoor and outdoor seating and great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a late diner at NR. The menu selections were varied and quite tempting. The food was very good and our server was excellent. I had the short ribs and my Wife had the Cobb Salad. Wine list was decent and the mint juleps were tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Upscale Southern Cuisine in the heart of downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We eat in Lexington a lot but had never tried this place. I guess because it had the "Saloon" on the end of the name! Glad we did. Able to eat outside or inside and the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. White tablecloths outside dressed it up. Extensive wine list. We had a couple of the specials and then one person ordered Catfish which had an excellent crust. The other had a Hot Brown and said it was better than the Brown Hotel! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the service was sporadic. (The removed the silverware but didn't replace it,etc).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Great Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I've only been to Nick Ryan's a couple of times, and for some reason I secretly expected to be disappointed (probably due to all the hype). I was a little surprised at how pleasant my dining experience was. The food was great, the staff knowledgeable and friendly. The second time I was there I even had nice time in spite of having to sit in a strange spot - kind of a bar top table in a corner. (Unfortunately that's also where the health department inspection post was - and it wasn't a gold star sticker rating - so having that as our view the entire time we were eating was a little disconcerting.) Still, great experience both times. The menu might not be pages and pages, but I still found it to be filled with options and descriptions so enticing it was difficult to make a decision. I'll be going back a third, fourth, fifth time to take care of that.
This would be a great place for 25+ casual date night, or for an older college student to take his or her parents. It's fun but sophisticated, laid back but not a dive, neither cheap nor expensive, with food that's both interesting and comforting. Well done, and I wish it hadn't taken me so long to try this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick Ryan's Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Nick Ryan's Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick Ryan's Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.