We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talon Winery & Vineyards

Talon Winery & Vineyards
7086 Tates Creek Road, Lexington, KY 40515
859-971-3214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 50 Activities in Lexington
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stroll through lush vineyards as well as a tasting room and gift shop located in an original 18th century farmhouse. Tours feature an inside view of the processing area, the tanks, Kentucky oak-barrels and a state-of-the-art bottling system. Talon Winery sits on 300 acres of rolling Bluegrass farmland.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice surprise ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was skeptical about going to a winery in Kentucky but was pleasantly surprised at how good their dry wines were. The house you taste in was wonderful and it is a beautiful setting

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Suprise find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We did not expect a great deal from a winery in Kentucky, but were very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful property, above average wines grown in that climate. The tasting room was very well done with excellent service and fair prices.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great wedding review!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Upon choosing Talon for our daughters wedding we were a bit apprehensive due to some negative postings. My fears were quickly put to rest. Our experience was great, Sharon our coordinator, answered the phone everytime I called and answered all my questions with patience. The day dawned and personnel were there to greet us when we arrived early to decorate and continued to assist us throughout the day (Laura & Ryan were both great). Sure there were visitors to the winery that day but no one interferred unless you call kind words and ooos and awws from the few folks who saw the beautiful bride as she made her way to the ceremony.an interference. Sometimes the family members of a bridal party can be too needy, too sensitive and too picky and post unrealistic negative oppinons. As for us we understand that this a public facility that do many weddings successfully but you can't please all the people all the time. Please hear the words of this mother of the bride, our experience at Talon was great from start to finish!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Strawberry-Chocolate Wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped in here about 7 minutes before they were scheduled to close. Bonnie graciously let us taste several of the wines so that we could make our purchasing selections. The strawberry-chocolate wine was amazing. And, we were pleasantly surprised with the prices (very reasonable).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheapo”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went to Talon Winery and left insulted. The Kentucky countryside is beautiful with its grasslands and serene race horses but Talon is cheap. We were told to wait in the gift shop while the server “finished up” with another couple. Ten minutes later we were granted permission to enter. You have to drive way out into the countryside and then pay for samples. If you pay for a sample it's not a sample, it’s a drink. My wife and I have enjoyed one or two glasses of wine a week for a long time but the Talon wine we tried was bland. We decided to get a desert wine for the wife and it was $26 but when the server put the bottle on the counter, it's tinny. I would guess that it isn’t even 500ml. Talon Winery is a rip off.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talon Winery & Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Talon Winery & Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talon Winery & Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.