We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT really walking distance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn Hotel to your Saves list
University Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1229 S Limestone at Waller Ave, Lexington, KY 40503   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Lexington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NOT really walking distance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

First, let me say, this is NOT really walking distance to the Univ of Kentucky -- maybe for a college kid -- maybe -- but not for anyone else. The lobby is nice, but there is no pool, which at this price is disappointing. The rooms seem somewhat old and smelled kind of funny, especially when we first got there. In order to make it not stuffy, you had to run the AC, but then it got too cold. The remote for the TV only worked holding it upside down. When we first got to the room our TV wasn't working and we had to call the front desk. It turns out the cords were not hooked up in the back, which was aggravating. The beds were not that comfortable -- rather hard, in fact - and there were just not enough blankets. The bathroom was fairly large but the purported 'kitchenette' was nothing but a larger counter with a fridge and a microwave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
32
9
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very tired looking rooms with poor beds. Worst place I've stayed in Lexington and many at a similar price far better. Lexington offers many other choice with great locations. This place is great for being near the University of Kentucky if that is the goal. The street noise is impossible being near the major hospital.

Room Tip: Find any place but this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have stayed at the University Inn on multiple occasions over the past 4 years. Each visit has lasted several nights. Every experience has been outstanding, from the friendliness and helpfulness of the front desk staff, to the time spent checking in and out, to the cleanliness of the hotel, to the quality of the complementary breakfast, and to the proximity to the University of Kentucky and the UK hospital complex. The only negative I can think of is the lack of eating establishments within walking distance. I would not hesitate to recommend the University Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I just stayed there for my niece's graduation, the room was clean the hotel is easy to get to anything around town breakfast was good I would stay there again there was a few minor things in the room like a light bulb and such no big deal

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The staff was so welcoming and helpful and my room was clean, comfy and quiet.
I loved the location and the price! Free internet, parking and breakfast are all included in the room rate. Will stay here again when I return to Lexington!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed several nights there while my grandfather was in UK hospital. Although we were just wanting a place to shower and sleep this place was far more.
The beds are incredible and not because I had slept on a cot at the hospital. These beds were some of the best beds I have ever slept on. The linens are crisp clean and all white. I love that they put solid white duvet covers over their alternative down comforter. I wish I would of had time to really enjoy this place more. It is awesome! The breakfast is great. If your going back and forth to the hospital it is well worth the price. The hospital shuttle will take you back and forth if you are not able to walk the 2 blocks. I was so tired I had to use the shuttle. Just call the front desk and they will call for you. It is across the street from the emergency entrance. The free breakfast would cost you $15 to $20 dollars at the hospital cafeteria. The price was more than we were prepared for but it was worth every penny.
The staff is very accommodating in every way, especially when helping you work around the hospital schedule. The rooms stay very booked so feel privileged if they have availabity. The cost is that of a five star resort and worth every cent.

Room Tip: If you want easy access to breakfast stay in the main building. If you want peace and quiet even to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

While staying with family member. We stayed at University Inn.Our stay was very nice across street from hospital, continental breakfast good, and shuttle service to and from hospital. Staff very helpful. We would stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
0.8 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#47 of 69 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington near the University of Kentucky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#8 of 69 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#20 of 69 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#31 of 69 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Hotel

Address: 1229 S Limestone at Waller Ave, Lexington, KY 40503
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn offers unique amenities at a value price. We are the closest hotel to the University Of Kentucky Medical Center and Commonwealth Stadium. We offer single, double and king bedded rooms and suites and are a completely non-smoking facility. Special pricing is available for AAA, AARP, groups and medically related stays. We are your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your University Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.