We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Embassy Suites.....comfy clean large rooms and good sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 65 hotels in Lexington
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Typical Embassy Suites.....comfy clean large rooms and good sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you have stayed at an Embassy Suites they look pretty much the same: the rooms are identical anywhere you go. It has more of an apartment feel than a typical hotel room. You get a kitchen, large living room and comfy bedroom with a cozy bed and a desk to work at. I paid a reduced price but in anycase I wouldnt call this hotel cheap. If you like the idea of a suite then it may be worth the extra money. Rooms are super quiet and privacy is assured.

The location is a bit out of the way so if you don't rent a car very few things are in walking distance. People stay here mostly because they are at a conference. There is a Denny's across the street. A bus stops in front of the hotel surprisingly frequently and it only costs a dollar. You can take a cab downtown for a reasonable rate (about 15 dollars) and there is plenty of action with college bars and a lively friendly atmosphere. Try SkyBar for a dance club atmosphere on the top floor of a downtown tower. There are also plenty of other bars around that area and cover is cheap 0-10 dollars.

Breakfast was good and you could ask for anything you liked. The chef was very friendly and the omelettes were great.

The staff of the hotel was generally nice and accommodating except one totally incompetent male who had no business working there. He knew nothing, did not even bother trying to help and was annoyed that you expected him to provide any kind of assistance. It’s rare to find such shocking incompetence in North American at a hotel of this level. This is the only reason I cannot give the property 5 stars.

If you want to do some tours I strongly suggest the Horse Museum. It is minutes away by car or you can take a cab like I did through the spectacular area. I found the museum even better than the horse farm tours since you get to see famous horses, shows and gorgeous scenery. The museum is really a farm. If you want to do a horse farm tour as well, go with Heritage tours. They get a high rating on this site and I was not disappointed. Most of the tours will pick you up at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Wanderingyahud,

Thank you very much for the review of our property. Your contributions to the website are much appreciated and we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in Lexington.

Only concerning thing we read was regarding an associate who stood out to you in a negative way. I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly at jan.vanco@eslexington.com to give me more details about your interaction and the issues you have experienced with this associate. We pride ourselves in providing the best service possible and we absolutely look for ways to improve our performance.

Once again thank you for the review and for choosing Embassy Suites Lexington for your stay here.

At your service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    94
    40
    14
    7
See reviews for
135
57
21
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Typically we stay at the Hilton when in Lexington, but they were full so decided to stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and i really liked thewater fountains in the atrium.

Food in the resturant was tastey, but arrived cold both nights ... maybe they need better timing and communication between the kitchen and servers.

Breakfast is included ... a standard buffet but you can also get a cooked to order breakfast omlet or eggs ... very tastey. I plan to make this my destination hotel when in Lexington.

Room Tip: Book early and pick a lower floor since the elevators are slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear 2080 Rascal,

Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel.

We really appreciate the positive comments as well as the constructive criticism and we will work on improving this aspect of our operation. We understand that you have many different options when you travel and we were happy to learn that you will prefer to stay with us over our competitor hotels in the area.

Once again thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites Lexington and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

At your service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Well-kept hotel. Nice amenities. Breakfast was good. Coffee was good (important for me). One concern that I had was the walls could have been a bit more sound proof. A door slamming neighbor caused whole room to shake. Staff was very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Lhjraffe,

Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel.

I am very happy that overall you were pleased with the product and the services that we offer. I would like to apologize for the noise that you experienced during your stay and we are always happy to talk to guests that might be making others uncomfortable. Thank you for mentioning all the positives that you experienced and I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back at the Embassy Suites Lexington again soon.

At your service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I reserved a handicap accessible room in JULY for an October reservation. Upon arrival I was told that they did not have an accessible room. The desk manager apologized and said "he'd knock a few bucks off". That wasn't much consolation for the handicapped member of our group.

After our stay I did not get Hilton Honors points. I called the Hilton Honors line to get credit for the stay and I was told that since I received compensation for my room, I guess that was when he "knocked a few bucks off", I would not get points. I eventually did get the points and I was told that the general manager of the site would contact me within 3 business days to discuss my experience. It's been over a week now with no call.

The fact that this location is dismissive over reservations, particularly handicap access rooms, tries to screw you on points when they try to "knock a few bucks off" and to cap it off has an unresponsive general manager leads me to believe there are far too many better choices in Lexington. You do not get the value for the premium they charge. As someone that spends almost 100 nights a year on the road I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere.

Another aside, the rooms need an update as the carpet is quite old and there was mold in our shower. See posted pictures of mold.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Uncle Duke,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your concern. I apologize you feel we have not responded and your unsatisfactory stay. Unfortunately there seems to be some confusion. We did receive a message from Hilton in the PM on 10/18 about the concern with the room type availability. We responded to this Guest Assistance request within 48 hours. For your convenience I have copied the correspondence between our hotel and the member of your group that called Hilton initially below. (minus the names and address for privacy reasons).

From: Jan Vanco <jan.vanco@eslexington.com>
To:XXXXX
Sent: Saturday, October 20, 2012 5:32 PM
Subject: Your stay at Embassy Suites Lexington


Dear Mr. XXXXX

Good afternoon from Lexington.

First and foremost, let me start by thanking you for your loyalty to the
Hilton family of hotels as a HHonors Diamond member.

I wanted to take a moment to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience
you experienced during your stay here with the wrong assignment of a room
for your father. There is no excuse for this misstep and I am sorry we
have made such a mistake especially with your group of rooms. I fully
understand that nothing we can do to make this situation better, but
regardless of that, I will take off a full charge for the room for one
night. This refund will be processed on Monday.

Once again, my sincerest apologies for our mistake and I certainly hope
that you will be able to give our hotel another chance in the future. If
I can be of any personal assistance, please contact me at any time via
email or any of the numbers below.


At Your Service
Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
Embassy Suites Lexington
1801 Newtown Pike
Lexington, KY 40511
Phone: 859-455-5000

From: XXXXX>
To: Jan Vanco <jan.vanco@eslexington.com>
Date: Sun, 21 Oct 2012 04:35:03 -0700 (PDT)
Subject: Re: Your stay at Embassy Suites Lexington

Dear Jan,
Thank you for your reply. I would appreciate it if you could apply the credit to confirmation # 80239xxx. This was for the room that was already discounted.

Thank you again for your reply.

Sincerely,
XXX


As a hotel we are not aware there was an earlier communication to Hilton about this matter. I would like to find out where the communication mishap between Hilton and us happened, and I will follow up with Hilton.
I hope you would be able to give me some more information as to who you talked to at Hilton.If you would not mind giving me this information, please contact me at 859-455-5000.
Thank you again for taking the time to express your concerns and I apologize again for the inconvenience we caused. We take pride in trying to exceed all our guests expectations and it is clear we failed to do so this time.

At your Service,

Ron van Haaren
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently spent the weekend at this hotel and can definitely recommend this hotel for comfortable lodging. The hotel is a little out of the way but anything in Lexington is not far away - Keeneland, Downtown and great restaurant in Midway was only a 25 minute drive. There is a bar onsite and the cooked-to-order breakfast is worth the wait. For me, as a lap swimmer, there is an indoor pool for a workout in the morning across from the gym that is larger than most facilities. AND, instead of the USA today (which you can get) they also have the local paper at the front desk - even on Sunday! Spacious room - great for couples or with kids. Spacious lobby with lots of fountains and open areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Espana Traveler,

Thank you very much for the time taken to review our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience. We strive to make each guest's experience a great one and I am happy we succeeded during your stay. We know you have many choices when it comes to choosing a hotel and we appreciate you choosing our Embassy Suites.

Once again thank you for the review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

At your service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We frequently stay in various embassy suites hotels for weekend trips since we like the room layout for traveling with our two young kids. I've never really felt the need to review one until now. We felt this particular location was a notch above your average embassy suites, mostly due to its excellent staff and service. Great managers reception, great breakfast, and great job taking care of what seemed like a full house! Plus my kids who normally awake at 7am slept in till 9:00 so it must have been both quiet and comfortable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Kshew,

Thank you for the time taken to review our property.

I am very pleased you enjoyed our hotel, but even more pleased that you enjoyed our associates. We strive to make every guest's stay as comfortable as possible and I am happy we succeeded during your stay.

Thank you for making Embassy Suites Lexington your home away from home and I hope we get to welcome you here again soon.

At your service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

For the past 6 years I have traveled all over the South for work. This is the best hotel I have stayed in yet. The rooms have always been very clean and up to date. The cook to order breakfast is fantastic. The Evening Managers and staff have been very friendly and helpful. This is a very nice hotel I would recommend to anyone staying in the Lexington area. They have a nice gym and pool. Also there is a walking/Bike trail around the property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Jack D,

Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites and I certainly hope we get to welcome you here again soon.

Thank you for making the Embassy Suites Lexington your home away from home.

At your service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington

Address: 1801 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lexington
#5 Family Hotel in Lexington
#6 Business Hotel in Lexington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Embassy Suites Lexington hotel boasts a beautiful setting in the heart of Kentucky's Bluegrass Country at the University of Kentucky Coldstream Research Campus. Visit our Lexington hotel and you're centrally placed for the finest equine attractions, horse farms and many of the area's major corporate names. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lexington
Lexington Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.