We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long term stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Lexington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Lexington to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   603 Ad Color Drive, Lexington, KY 40511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Long term stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have stayed there five days a week for 3 months, for work. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is only cleaned once a week for long term stays. They do a good job at cleaning and supplying fresh towels, but definitely need to do a more thorough job at vacuuming, and moving out chairs, and sweeping under furniture. Each room has a full size refrigerator, stove top, microwave, dishwasher, dishes, coffee maker.and pots and pans. They do not furnish breakfast, but do have a small market in the lobby to by items. The do have free, fresh fruit, and coffee in the market place. It has an indoor pool that is clean.

Room Tip: On the main floor, on the northside is very quiet. The rooms are nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel. Your feedback is important to us, it helps us to deliver the Great Guest Experience that our Guests are expecting from a hotel. The items you mentioned regarding your stay will be addressed with staff members and management. I apologize for your less than perfect stay and hope to offer you a more perfect stay in the future.

Karin Peres Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    17
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
19
12
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed overnight traveling to western KY, and arrived about 11:00PM. Walked in to find a sign on the counter greeting me with the message that the desk clerk had stepped away from the desk and would be back soon. After about 12 minutes, the desk clerk did appear and proceeded to check me into my room. I was even assigned a room position I prefer at the end of the hall on the uppermost floor... however, upon my arrival after the long trek up to the room, it was clear that the room had not been made up by housekeeping. First tried to call the front desk on the phone, but no one answered after about 15 rings. So gathered my stuff, and headed back down to the lobby, and was greeted by the sign again. Waited another 10 minutes, then decided to look out front to see if there was any sign of the clerk there and sure enough, he was out front smoking a cigarette. He then assigned me to another room... which had been cleaned... but I honestly had second thoughts after seeing the comforter on the bed... which looked "well used" and quite sketchy. Too tired to care at that point, just took the comforter off... everything else about the hotel was satisfactory, but it was a very brief stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Your Feedback is very much appreciated, it helps us to deliver Great Service to all of our Guests. The items you mentioned with your stay will be addressed with Staff members and Management. I apologize that this impacted your Experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a better stay in the future.

Karin Peres Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed at Candlewood for about 5 days/month for the past 8 months and the staff always made me feel welcome. Any concerns were promptly addressed with a smile. They genuinely care about each and every customer. Karin especially always made me feel welcome. I travel for business and they were one of the best at customer service! It was a great location with easy access, while still providing a quiet, comfortable room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kala C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I was thrilled to read your compliments about Karin and I have passed those on to her. She has been such a wonderful addition to our Candlewood family! All of our staff do a fantastic job in making sure that our guests are taken care of and comfortable during their stay. They truly bring the old saying "Southern Hospitality" to life. With a genuine staff and a comfortable clean room, we bring the home away from home experience to our guests, whether they are staying for one night or months and months at a time. Thank you again for allowing us to provide you that home experience and we hope to see you on your next trip to Lexington!

Sincerely,
Kala Cain
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites
603 Adcolor Drive
Lexington, KY 40511
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is a good inexpensive hotel right off the interstate and pretty close to several restaurants. Another big perk is that it is close to the Lexington opera house which has lots of great plays and concerts along with other local attractions.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff members. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Karin B. Peres, Guest Services Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The chlorine smell from the pool does tend to permeate the common areas but not inside the room. We will definitely stay at Candlewood Suites again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff members. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Karin B. Peres, Guest Services Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was our first time staying at a Candlewood Suites, and we did so to complete the Big Win, a loyalty points promotion that encourages travelers to explore all the IHG brand hotels. It did its job: we learned that CS has a full kitchen including a full-size fridge plus everything you'd need to do your laundry (even an ironing board, which we haven't used for decades!). This brand would be a great choice for anyone who needs to stay somewhere more than a couple of days (which we might be doing now that we're retired!); they even have a social hour once a week for guests to hang out. This particular hotel is in a convenient location right at the Lexington ring road, meaning access to downtown and everything else is easy. However, it's in a funny little loop of road so walking to anything is not an option. The room was very clean and comfortable; we arrived in the morning and the staff nicely managed to get us into a room that had just been cleaned even tho check - in time is 3 pm. There is no breakfast offered because of the long-term accommodations but there's a Denny's about a mile away.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff members. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Karin B. Peres, Guest Services Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Although we booked our room at the Candlewood Suites weeks in advance to ensure that we would get a smoking room, we were told when we checked in that they had no more smoking rooms available. This was very disappointing considering that they seemed to have plenty of smoking rooms when we booked. We go to a lot of trouble to find hotels that accomodate smokers, so that we won't "offend" the non-smokers, and we were not checking in late, so did they just give them out to "drop-ins" to sell more rooms? Bait and switch is bad business practice. The room was clean and very nice, the pool also looked well-kept, even though we did not go in. There was very old dry dog poop on the putting green by the gazebo, (that area in general needed a bit of tidying up). All in all, this seems to be a decent property for the price, but because of the booking "mix-up", we will NOT stay with Candlewood again.

Room Tip: Maybe call the hotel directly if you have a special room request, and emphasize that you will be exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about our hotel. At Candlewood Suites we take pride in great guest service. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize that the room type you had requested on your reservation was not available on Arrival. Our Hotel is an Extended Stay Brand, whereas we do have smoking rooms, there are only 10 of those rooms. Most of our guests stay for weeks, even months at a time. If their work schedule dictates that they must stay over on the day of their anticipated departure, we must accommodate that guest. In the case of smoking rooms we try to assign a room for the arriving guest on the ground floor that is close to an exit door, so that the guest is able to smoke in the smoking area. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused and appreciate your comments.

Karin B. Peres, Guest Services Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
9.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
4.9 mi away
Residence Inn Lexington Keeneland / Airport
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Lexington

Address: 603 Ad Color Drive, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Candlewood Suites Lexington, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high-speed Internet. Candlewood Suites Lexington is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. Candlewood Suites Lexington provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and significantly more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Lexington Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.