We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good inexpensive hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Lexington to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   603 Ad Color Drive, Lexington, KY 40511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is a good inexpensive hotel right off the interstate and pretty close to several restaurants. Another big perk is that it is close to the Lexington opera house which has lots of great plays and concerts along with other local attractions.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff members. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Karin B. Peres, Guest Services Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    16
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
19
10
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The chlorine smell from the pool does tend to permeate the common areas but not inside the room. We will definitely stay at Candlewood Suites again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff members. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Karin B. Peres, Guest Services Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was our first time staying at a Candlewood Suites, and we did so to complete the Big Win, a loyalty points promotion that encourages travelers to explore all the IHG brand hotels. It did its job: we learned that CS has a full kitchen including a full-size fridge plus everything you'd need to do your laundry (even an ironing board, which we haven't used for decades!). This brand would be a great choice for anyone who needs to stay somewhere more than a couple of days (which we might be doing now that we're retired!); they even have a social hour once a week for guests to hang out. This particular hotel is in a convenient location right at the Lexington ring road, meaning access to downtown and everything else is easy. However, it's in a funny little loop of road so walking to anything is not an option. The room was very clean and comfortable; we arrived in the morning and the staff nicely managed to get us into a room that had just been cleaned even tho check - in time is 3 pm. There is no breakfast offered because of the long-term accommodations but there's a Denny's about a mile away.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff members. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Karin B. Peres, Guest Services Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Although we booked our room at the Candlewood Suites weeks in advance to ensure that we would get a smoking room, we were told when we checked in that they had no more smoking rooms available. This was very disappointing considering that they seemed to have plenty of smoking rooms when we booked. We go to a lot of trouble to find hotels that accomodate smokers, so that we won't "offend" the non-smokers, and we were not checking in late, so did they just give them out to "drop-ins" to sell more rooms? Bait and switch is bad business practice. The room was clean and very nice, the pool also looked well-kept, even though we did not go in. There was very old dry dog poop on the putting green by the gazebo, (that area in general needed a bit of tidying up). All in all, this seems to be a decent property for the price, but because of the booking "mix-up", we will NOT stay with Candlewood again.

Room Tip: Maybe call the hotel directly if you have a special room request, and emphasize that you will be exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about our hotel. At Candlewood Suites we take pride in great guest service. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize that the room type you had requested on your reservation was not available on Arrival. Our Hotel is an Extended Stay Brand, whereas we do have smoking rooms, there are only 10 of those rooms. Most of our guests stay for weeks, even months at a time. If their work schedule dictates that they must stay over on the day of their anticipated departure, we must accommodate that guest. In the case of smoking rooms we try to assign a room for the arriving guest on the ground floor that is close to an exit door, so that the guest is able to smoke in the smoking area. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused and appreciate your comments.

Karin B. Peres, Guest Services Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Location was great - easy to access downtown Lexington. Service was wonderful. I only stayed one night but if you are in need of a longer term stay, this place should meet all your needs. The pool is a salt-water pool (no chlorine). They have a gym. The kitchenette has most everything you'd need. My only complaint was the toiletries provided. I tend to not pack any for short trips and just use what's provided in the hotel. They provide Finesse brand conditioning shampoo, and two bars of soap - one for hands and one for bath.

Room Tip: I can't speak for the rooms on the backside but the rooms facing the front of the hotel are brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments about our hotel. We value your feedback in order to improve the guest experience. We supply the toiletries like soap, shampoo in the guest room. Any extra items needed are provided in the Candlewood Cupboard or can be obtained at the Front Desk. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope to be able to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were looking for a hotel that was close to a tournament we were attending and found the Candlewood. It was bout 5 minutes from the site, so the location was perfect. The booking process went seamlessly well and the Candlewood was incredibly easy to find. Accessing the property was also very smooth over the weekend we stayed. It was our first time staying at a Candlewood property, but we knew it was a bit different than the hotels at which we'd typically stayed. Lena was at the front desk and her warm and friendly greeting made us feel instantly welcome. She let us know what to expect and that if we needed anything all we had to do was let the front desk know. (And she did, too! Got us anything we needed!) Our room was very large compared to most hotel rooms, but felt more like home, than hotel. We loved the efficiency kitchen and full sized fridge! It let us have a nice, leisurely breakfast in our room :). The queen size bed was perfect for us... plenty of room for 2, yet close enough to snuggle!

We consider the Candlewood to be quite the find and look forward to staying there on our next trip to Lexington!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff members. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Karin B. Peres, Guest Services Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently as a night's stay was only 15,000 IHG rewards points; seems it's a rather inexpensive hotel when you're paying cash, too. The hotel is easy to find, a short jaunt from downtown/campus, and close to the highway. The common areas and room were clean, and in good repair. The room was capacious, which made the queen size bed seem out of place (it had more than enough room for a king). While the front desk staff was courteous, and I understand the place is near campus & likely employs a lot of students, the young man who checked us in was wearing grungy sweatpants, flip flops, a soiled UK tshirt, and probably hadn't washed his hair in a few days. I'm all for a casual work environment, but casual doesn't mean disheveled.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kala C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Lexington, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Candlewood Suites hotel. We appreciate your business and glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. I am glad you found everything clean and comfortable. Our housekeepers do a fantastic job in making sure that out hotel sparkles with cleanliness and leaves a good clean scent behind. I apologize for the experience you received with our guest services clerk. Our management team has since addressed the issue and went back over the proper attire for all of our staff members. Our hotel requires our staff to dress in professional and business attire. We apologize that you were not able to experience that. If you have any further questions, please feel to contact either our Front Office Manager Karin or our General Manager Dipak. We truly appreciate your review as this allows us to continue to improve on the services we provide for our guests. We hope to see you on your next trip to Lexington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Candlewood Suites Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Lexington

Address: 603 Ad Color Drive, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Candlewood Suites Lexington, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high-speed Internet. Candlewood Suites Lexington is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. Candlewood Suites Lexington provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and significantly more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Lexington Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.