We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In for a wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Lexington Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Lexington Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Lexington Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   369 W. Vine Street, Lexington, KY 40507   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Staycation Package
Ranked #23 of 65 hotels in Lexington
Miamisburg, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“In for a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at the Lexington Hilton Downtown on a Saturday in late October and had a very nice stay. We did not utilize much of the Hotel except the room and the pool and whirlpool. A rather typical downtown standard hotel room but I must say it was very clean,and the beds were very comfortable. We chose to self park in the parking garage free of charge and have no real complaints. The room was a bit pricey for my likes but it is downtown and the location is great and the property seemed to be nearly full. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay while in town for a wedding. Thanks for the great feedback. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    121
    83
    22
    10
See reviews for
75
78
24
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location, nice rooms, and friendly staff. We were fortunate to stay in an executive sweet and had a great view of the water fountains and ice rink below. Very nice! I found the rooms to be a bit noisy, but it could have just been that the neighboring guests were more to blame. I could definitely hear them in the hall late into the night, and was awakened again by the sound of the club level breakfast on the floor above. Speaking of the club level breakfast, I found it to be adequate but not spectacular and it needed to be maintained and stocked. Seating was very limited as well.

A small gift shop for snacks, souvenirs, or forgotten travel essentials would be a nice addition.

By far the best feature was the Bigg Blue Martini. Great atmosphere and energy and the live music was a definite bonus!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
So happy to hear our lobby bar was a Bigg hit with you and your family. Thanks for the kind words and great feedback. I recommend on your next visit you check out our Gift Shop located next to the Front Desk. It’s loaded with all kinds of goodies. Thanks again for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I flew all day and arrived late afternoon, traveling alone, I am female and had three bags due to a workshop I was attending! I got out of the cab and wrestled with my bags and got thru two sets of doors, the girl at the desk laughingly told me "I looked really tired"! I wanted to ask "do you not have bellmen"? I saw one the whole time I was there and most employees look like college students!
My room was fairly nice but not for the rates I was paying for my room!
The waitresses were friendly but you expect better service from a hotel with rates that are close to $200.00 a day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for taking time to give us your feedback regarding your stay with us while in town on business. I’m sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience. Our main goal is for our travelers to have a productive visit. I will share your review with our Bellman staff to help us improve our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Friendly staff and personel, food was high quality in the resturant, greeted me by name and valets were responsible and very experienced. also the rooms had great views. Over all, it wasn't the best hotel that I had ever stayed at, but its not shabby in any sense.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Great review! I will share your feedback with our hotel staff. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and loved the food. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a HHoners Gold I was put on the 14th floor, not bad. Sleep number bed didn't work, heat didn't work and staff at front desk were quite rude! I asked for late check out and was told I could only have until 12:30pm, at 12:15pm already knocking at my door to get out. I also had a pretty bad fall at the Hotel which I reported to the front desk, I was given 3 small band-aides and made to pay for my aspirin. Because of my fall, now I have to get a new suit and even though I put my accident in writing to them, never heard back from them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. However, I would like to apologize once more for the inconveniences and for the level of service that you experienced while staying with us. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact me directly. Thank you and I look forward to your call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a typical Hilton, nice rooms, well appointed and clean. It is across the street from a stadium where basketball is being played, and near several downtown restaurants and bars.

A few quibbles: 1)there is a free shuttle to/from airport, but when we arrived, there were too many people waiting for the shuttle to fit. The next shuttle was to arrive in 30 mins and more people were arriving, again too many to fit. We ended up with a $27 cab fare. 2) there were huge lines to check-in, however, in fairness, the line moved fairly quickly. 3) when I entered my room, it was unbearably hot: the thermostat was set for 86 degrees. The thermostat should be set to something more normal between guests. Unfortunately, my room failed to cool off, but the next morning after reporting the problem to engineering the problem was resolved. 4) the room was dark and the lighting was inadequate, particularly for reading in bed. 5) the bath was very small. 6) the sleep number bed did not work at all; the bed was rock hard. I really disliked the pillows, and unfortunately they were all the same. 7) terrible view.

Bottom line: it was an ok hotel, but I'll select a different hotel when I return to Lexington.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I’m so sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay. Our goal is for every guest to have a productive and hassle-free visit. I would encourage you to contact me so we can make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Downtown Lexington for a business event. I would say that the staf at the hotel was quite pleasant and the location good. However the seems to be a lack of detail related to the upkeep of the rooms. My room #1029 seemed to have some cleanliness issues. There was mold in the shower around the grab bar and in the tile, yuck! There were hairs, not mine, on the door and the ceiling of the bathroom. The mirror did not look like it had been wiped down in some time. The hinges to the toilet seat were so gross I actually had to take toilet paper and wrap it around so I didn't have to look at them.

Beds were those sleep number beds and they were NOT comfortable and they didn't work well. I think they might need updating or servicing or both.The handle on the coffee stand fell right off upon opening. Room overall was dusty including the lamps and mirror as well as the desk and phones.

I also had access to the club floor, while it is nice to have access I was a little underwhelmed by the offerings. They used styrofoam cups instead of paper which are more earth friendly and will all the different franchise companies moving in a more environmentally friendly space you would think styrofoam would not be used. The B-fast offerings were decent but I think offering a more quality brand of greek yogart for instance such as Chiobani (no gelatin and no corn syrup or high fructose syrup), same thing with the jellies and peanut butter. Bread offerings could be more focused on healthful options such as 'whole grain' not wheat (just carmel colored white bread) and full of additives like dough softners. And sweetners, think Stevia or Truvia as opposed to equal or splenda. Related to cerals, I would suggest Kashi (Kelloggs) now has more healthful options as opposed to sugary cerals with no health benefits like fiber or protien.

Again staff was kind. The food although limited in the restaurant/bar was good. And the location was good. Just needs some sprucing up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We really appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. Thanks for all the helpful suggestions. I would encourage you to ask for a room with a pillow top mattress next time you’re in town for business. I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Lexington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lexington Downtown

Address: 369 W. Vine Street, Lexington, KY 40507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#15 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Lexington Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lexington Kentucky’s finest hotel, Hilton Lexington/Downtown, is the hotel destination of choice for meetings and weddings, alike. Centrally located in downtown Lexington and adjacent to Rupp Arena, Hilton Lexington/Downtown is just minutes away from Blue Grass Airport, Keeneland Race Track, University of Kentucky, the Kentucky Horse Park and the corporate offices of Lexmark and Ashland Oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Lexington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lexington Downtown Hotel Lexington
Hilton Hotels Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Lexington Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.