We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad for a Hilton” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Lexington Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Lexington Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Lexington Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   369 W. Vine Street, Lexington, KY 40507   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Lexington
Signal Hill, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pretty bad for a Hilton”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a HHoners Gold I was put on the 14th floor, not bad. Sleep number bed didn't work, heat didn't work and staff at front desk were quite rude! I asked for late check out and was told I could only have until 12:30pm, at 12:15pm already knocking at my door to get out. I also had a pretty bad fall at the Hotel which I reported to the front desk, I was given 3 small band-aides and made to pay for my aspirin. Because of my fall, now I have to get a new suit and even though I put my accident in writing to them, never heard back from them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. However, I would like to apologize once more for the inconveniences and for the level of service that you experienced while staying with us. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact me directly. Thank you and I look forward to your call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    150
    102
    34
    13
See reviews for
87
102
28
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a typical Hilton, nice rooms, well appointed and clean. It is across the street from a stadium where basketball is being played, and near several downtown restaurants and bars.

A few quibbles: 1)there is a free shuttle to/from airport, but when we arrived, there were too many people waiting for the shuttle to fit. The next shuttle was to arrive in 30 mins and more people were arriving, again too many to fit. We ended up with a $27 cab fare. 2) there were huge lines to check-in, however, in fairness, the line moved fairly quickly. 3) when I entered my room, it was unbearably hot: the thermostat was set for 86 degrees. The thermostat should be set to something more normal between guests. Unfortunately, my room failed to cool off, but the next morning after reporting the problem to engineering the problem was resolved. 4) the room was dark and the lighting was inadequate, particularly for reading in bed. 5) the bath was very small. 6) the sleep number bed did not work at all; the bed was rock hard. I really disliked the pillows, and unfortunately they were all the same. 7) terrible view.

Bottom line: it was an ok hotel, but I'll select a different hotel when I return to Lexington.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I’m so sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay. Our goal is for every guest to have a productive and hassle-free visit. I would encourage you to contact me so we can make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Downtown Lexington for a business event. I would say that the staf at the hotel was quite pleasant and the location good. However the seems to be a lack of detail related to the upkeep of the rooms. My room #1029 seemed to have some cleanliness issues. There was mold in the shower around the grab bar and in the tile, yuck! There were hairs, not mine, on the door and the ceiling of the bathroom. The mirror did not look like it had been wiped down in some time. The hinges to the toilet seat were so gross I actually had to take toilet paper and wrap it around so I didn't have to look at them.

Beds were those sleep number beds and they were NOT comfortable and they didn't work well. I think they might need updating or servicing or both.The handle on the coffee stand fell right off upon opening. Room overall was dusty including the lamps and mirror as well as the desk and phones.

I also had access to the club floor, while it is nice to have access I was a little underwhelmed by the offerings. They used styrofoam cups instead of paper which are more earth friendly and will all the different franchise companies moving in a more environmentally friendly space you would think styrofoam would not be used. The B-fast offerings were decent but I think offering a more quality brand of greek yogart for instance such as Chiobani (no gelatin and no corn syrup or high fructose syrup), same thing with the jellies and peanut butter. Bread offerings could be more focused on healthful options such as 'whole grain' not wheat (just carmel colored white bread) and full of additives like dough softners. And sweetners, think Stevia or Truvia as opposed to equal or splenda. Related to cerals, I would suggest Kashi (Kelloggs) now has more healthful options as opposed to sugary cerals with no health benefits like fiber or protien.

Again staff was kind. The food although limited in the restaurant/bar was good. And the location was good. Just needs some sprucing up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We really appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. Thanks for all the helpful suggestions. I would encourage you to ask for a room with a pillow top mattress next time you’re in town for business. I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This Hilton was as good or better than many many excellent Hilton's I've stayed at over the last several years. We travel to Lexington and stay overnight many times during the year, but this was our first stay at the Hilton downtown.
We checked-in late one evening after a long drive from Michigan and were pleased to find the bar and restaurant open until 11pm. We ordered a few appetizers that were fresh and tasty and enjoyed the information and chitchat with the bartenders.
The room was beautifully appointed and I thought the bath was roomy and liked the towels and accessories.
We were extended a late check-out because our plane did not leave LEX until 4pm, so we walked a few blocks to a great little bistro for lunch. Downtown is booming in terms of wonderful little restaurants.

After lunch it was super having the free shuttle to the airport!

Room Tip: Any room a few stories up would be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit to our property. We really appreciate the feedback. We hope you come back and visit us soon and have another Excellent Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park New Jersey USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

"I've stayed in a number of different Lexington area hotels, & there is nothing special about this hotel, yet the rooms are over $200 per night."

A previous reviewer, quoted above, has stated our case perfectly. We stayed on the 16th floor, paid the same price he did - & as the man said, the beds were uncomfortable, the pillows were terrible, the bathroom was cramped & the shower water pressure was almost non-existent.

We didn't come to Lexington to hang out in a hotel room, so these conditions certainly weren't pressing problems. But, if I were running this particular Hilton, I'd be angling for additional funds to upgrade the facilities (if I understand this correctly, what we experienced WAS the result of a recent renovation of the facilities).

ESPECIALLY THE LOUSY WATER PRESSURE.

Optional: I'd also phase out the busy, frothy hallway wallpaper & rugs, possibly inspired by the work of the Rocky & Bullwinkle art director. Say, if this "look" is something intentional, not blundered into, then let's leave things be & install commemorative statues of June Foray & Bill Scott in the lobby.

They would look very nice.

Positives: The hotel itself, everywhere, was clean as a whistle; the staff was always friendly & helpful (one person who was in a bad mood had a perfect reason to be in one); the location is perfect for the excellent local restaurants & Keeneland racetrack; & the bartender in the ground floor bar (Blue Martini?) couldn't have been nicer.

Can't Be Helped: The lady who got out of a 17th floor bed, left her room half-way dressed, & was first seen by this correspondent helping herself to a complimentary bowl of cereal & fruit. She looked rather odd - having forgotten to wear shoes - standing there with her feet in her little white socks.

I do not complain. The scene was a notable improvement over recoiling from the sight of the two dweebs who - coming down to breakfast in a Saratoga Springs B&B a few years ago - had decided that going barefoot was the only way to fly. I also happily recollect that they ate with their hands.

Room Tip: Marry into a family that has 51% of the stock of any one of the top twenty horse-breeding operations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I will share your compliments with our staff. I’m happy to hear our staff was always friendly and helpful. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel lives up to the Hilton reputation that I expect. Check-in was super-fast and easy. Parking is very easy in adjoining garage, with free in and out service. Rooms are what you would expect from a Hilton downtown facility in any city. Large room, but bathroom was a bit cramped. It is centrally located downtown near many bars, restaurants, etc. It is also across the street from Rupp Arena. We were here for UGA vs. UK football game, and took the Lextran $5 shuttle to Commonwealth Stadium. It leaves from across the street from the hotel and was super easy. This was not my first stay here and definitely will not be my last!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Great review! Thanks so much for giving us your feedback. I will share this with our staff and let them know to keep up the Top-notch service. We look forward to your next visit to Lexington, KY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've stayed in a number of different Lexington area hotels, and there is nothing special about this hotel, yet the rooms are over $200 per night. The air unit is loud, the beds uncomfortable and temperamental (at least now I know I'll never own a Sleep Number bed), the bathrooms aren't much larger than the closets and have no vents, and the giant tv only has analog channels. There isn't even a small refrigerator. I would not recommend this hotel for anything other than the downtown location, and I won't stay here again. When 21c comes to town, everyone else downtown will have to step up their game just to stay close.

Room Tip: Try the hotels in Beaumont center and ask for rooms that don't back up to New Circle Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRothchild, General Manager at Hilton Lexington Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry that you didn’t have an exceptional stay. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences that you endured while staying with us. We will be sure to work with our maintenance team to ensure that we make the necessary corrections. . We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Lexington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lexington Downtown

Address: 369 W. Vine Street, Lexington, KY 40507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#16 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Lexington Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lexington Kentucky’s finest hotel, Hilton Lexington/Downtown, is the hotel destination of choice for meetings and weddings, alike. Centrally located in downtown Lexington and adjacent to Rupp Arena, Hilton Lexington/Downtown is just minutes away from Blue Grass Airport, Keeneland Race Track, University of Kentucky, the Kentucky Horse Park and the corporate offices of Lexmark and Ashland Oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Lexington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lexington Downtown Hotel Lexington
Hilton Hotels Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Lexington Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.