We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very nice Hotel with Southern Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Campbell House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Campbell House to your Saves list
The Campbell House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1375 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Lexington
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
“A Very nice Hotel with Southern Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The rooms have recently been updated and they did a very nice job. Very comfortable beds and the room is very impressive, as is the hotel and the staff.
Only issue we had was the bar. It is a nice bar, but they are overworking the poor bartender. On the night we were there, he was running the bar and the room service, so he would disappear from the bar. We found ourselves waiting for drinks several times. But when we heard what he all had to do, we were very understanding and he then checked in with us prior to leaving on his next room service delivery. The bar too will be going through renovations, and hopefully they will add some help for poor Jeremy.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    16
    17
    10
See reviews for
20
37
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent a Thursday and Friday night on Memorial Day weekend... 4 couples traveling together.
Like:
Rooms were all ready when we arrived at 1 pm (Bonus!).
Hotel staff were all very pleasant (front desk, restaurant, lounge, maids, maintenance).
Good value including breakfast with room.
Very clean and elegant. Good wifi availability.
Dislike:
Not very busy on Thursday night, but rooms were not cleaned until 4 pm, water glasses not replaced, toiletries not replenished.

Room Tip: Include the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edon, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My Wife and I stayed at the Campbell House over memorial weekend and was very pleased with everything about it. This classic but newly updated hotel fits the bill for southern beauty and hospitality. The staff was helpful and friendly. We even used a groupon for the room! The pool area is very family friendly and the lounge has live music every weekend, also a nice selection of local beers on tap.

Room Tip: first floor has easy access to all amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We took a chance on the Campbell House and I'm SO glad that we did. From the entrance to the customer service to our room it was ALL top notch. Our room was exactly as pictured... Completely redone and CLEAN! The Campbell house is fairly large so whoever owns it had to spend quite a bit of money fixing it up ...The ice maker was a little weird but you can definitely tell they are putting forth great effort which makes me want to give them my business! If we are ever in Lexington again we will stay here!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was an outstanding place to stay. The recent remodel has done wonders. The rooms are nice, the bed was super and the front desk service was outstanding. The restaurant was good, but the staff seemed to be unhappy. The food was good and well prepared. The bar, Bogart's, was a real treat. The bartender was very professional, and she had a good memory for drinks and faces. The decor was very good and it fit with the hotel. A "don't miss" for a visit to Lexington!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Not in my galaxy. Looks great on the outside...a southern veranda. Lobby area was okay, too. Decorated in horse, but tastefully. Graffiti carved in the elevator door, and the elevator itself was dark and dingy. Yuck. Light switch inside the room door operated nothing. No light in the dark closet. Toilet was loose...a moving target. Sink was plugged. Gross. Has a decent boutique-like feel. Bed was comfortable. We didn't hate it but won't choose it again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel, beautifully renovated. The food was excellent and fairly priced. Rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. Utilized the banquet facilities for our meeting and it met all of our expectations. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a conference or convention. The stay was the best experience.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear 23cobbie,

Thanks for sharing your experience! We look forward to your return to the Campbell House.

All the best,

Justin H.
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campbell House

Address: 1375 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a small two-story building in 1949, the Campbell House is Lexington's most recognized and cherished hotel. Our recent multi-million dollar renovation has transformed this local jewel into one of the finest hotels in the Kentucky. Featuring 250 guest rooms and suites and over 15,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate everything from board meetings to conventions, the Campbell House is the perfect location for groups, meetings and social events. We are centrally located near various tourist attractions such as: The University of Kentucky, Keeneland Race Track, Rupp Arena & Commonwealth Stadium - Home of the Kentucky Wildcats, Tattersalls, Redmile, The Lexington Convention Center and Calumet Farm. Whether you are seeking a personalized experience for you next business trip, and inspirational setting for your next meeting, an unforgettable wedding, the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway, or an unforgettable vacation, your adventure into a world of beauty, luxury and tranquility awaits you at the Campbell House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lexington
Crowne Plaza Campbell Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Campbell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.