We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, pretty hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Campbell House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Campbell House to your Saves list
The Campbell House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1375 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Lexington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, pretty hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed here for a race in town. Having never visited Lexington before we were unsure of our location. This hotel worked out great. It was close to our race as well as several restaurants and bars. The rooms are nice. Our room was a tad bit dark because of the dark colored walls and our window faced the inside of the hotel. We did not have much natural light and the lamps provided small amounts of lights. It also seemed odd that the only elevator was in the back of the hotel. Overall, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    15
    15
    10
See reviews for
17
28
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had been to the Campbell House a few years ago and it was fine. It has been recently COMPLETELY overhauled and remodeled and is absolutely beautiful! Modern but still with a great deal of Southern Charm. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the staff was gracious, helpful and warm. I didn't get to sit on the grand entrance/patio like I wanted, as it was a cold weekend but I certainly will be back soon to take advantage of it!
Also had room service and I am usually extremely difficult to please on this front- it was timely, served hot and delicious! Also-free Wifi!!
Campbell House has received quite the makeover! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mary T.,

Thank you so much for your kind, honest remarks! We are so thrilled with the results of our renovation and it's great to hear comments like yours. Please come back and visit us during the summer so you can enjoy the patio.

All the best,

Justin H.
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice property that would stay at again. If you are into horses, you will love it there as it's really got the theme covered. The hotel shuttle was not operational, but the hotel did cover the costs of taxi to and from the airport. Front desk staff was very nice and friendly, which is so nice when you travel thousands of miles to get there.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear rdeanr,

Thanks for sharing your experience! I apologize that the shuttle was not operational that day due to routine maintenance, but it appears that the staff went above and beyond to get you to your destination. We hope to see you again!

All the best,

Justin H.
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sciotoville, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room and the entire hotel were very nicely done. Lovely, felt higher end. It's an older building so it has some quirks, odd staircases and the like, but that adds character! We would stay here again! The staff was friendly, it was close to everything of note, plenty of parking, quiet rooms and excellent air conditioning. Also the shower water has great pressure and lots Of hot water. Also comfy beds and nice linens.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Tricia,

Thank you for kind remarks. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Justin H.
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a great rate plus military disc. Room was so nice! Great decor... Made you feel at home! Bathroom a little small but nice. Overall beautiful hotel.. Especially for the price. Only thing I would add is fix vending machines! Just wanted some water and had to walk a mile around building... Ended up not having any :(

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your honest remarks. We apologize for the vending machine issue and have already corrected it. The Campbell House team takes pride in providing a "home away from home" atmosphere for all of our guests; it's refreshing to know that you were able to experience it.

Best,

Justin H.
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stumbled upon this place and loved it. The renovations are great...very well decorated. Food was very good...the bartender was very informative and the beds are super comfortable..maybe the best I have slept on. Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for the great comments! We are so glad that you stumbled upon us too and we hope to see you again.

All the best,

Justin H.
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was one of my favorite motels/restaurants while I was growing up in Lexington. I even got married here!
I moved away for quite a few years and visited but I have now moved back to Lexington. There was a recent remodel...redo...revamp and it's back to the motel restaurant that I knew and loved! Seriously, if you have not tried it lately, you owe it to yourself to make it a point and try it again! The service is great the restaurant has a great lunch buffet and the lounge has great entertainment and a great drink selection. You owe it to yourself to visit a little bit of Lexington history while visiting our great city.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kathy F.,

Thank you for coming back throughout the years! We love hearing memories of our fabled hotel from years past and we hope to keep creating new ones. Thank you so much for kind remarks!

All the best,

Justin H.
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campbell House

Address: 1375 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a small two-story building in 1949, the Campbell House is Lexington's most recognized and cherished hotel. Our recent multi-million dollar renovation has transformed this local jewel into one of the finest hotels in the Kentucky. Featuring 250 guest rooms and suites and over 15,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate everything from board meetings to conventions, the Campbell House is the perfect location for groups, meetings and social events. We are centrally located near various tourist attractions such as: The University of Kentucky, Keeneland Race Track, Rupp Arena & Commonwealth Stadium - Home of the Kentucky Wildcats, Tattersalls, Redmile, The Lexington Convention Center and Calumet Farm. Whether you are seeking a personalized experience for you next business trip, and inspirational setting for your next meeting, an unforgettable wedding, the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway, or an unforgettable vacation, your adventure into a world of beauty, luxury and tranquility awaits you at the Campbell House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lexington
Crowne Plaza Campbell Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Campbell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.