We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old style southern hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Campbell House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Campbell House to your Saves list
The Campbell House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1375 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Lexington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grand old style southern hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is the fourth year we have stayed there. Always nice. They have recently started a major renovation and it will really help. The staff is so helpful and friendly. They changed our rooms for us so we could all be close together. I like section six. The rooms are larger and a straight shot to the covered downstairs entrance. Stay on the third floor.
The bar was open to eat breakfast. The old dinning room was closed. Ordered off of the menu and omelette was great. Close to Rite Aid drug store.
Looking forward to returning and seeing how this property looks.

Oh yea, one of the nicest features was the bed. Our king bed was a thermorest mattress. Very comfortable. Hope they keep these beds.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Beekeeper49,

Thank you for your comments and your continued support for the Campbell House! We also look forward to your return next year. We hope to "shock and awe" you with our new finished product and guest enhancements.

All the best,

Justin H.
Director of Operations
859.519.1353
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    23
    18
    10
See reviews for
28
51
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haymarket VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Road trip from NOVA west and ended in Lexington. A quick drive through the city revealed a diamond in a rough. Went to the local Macy's early in the day and asked for a hotel recommendation. The local woman, who seemed to posses intelligence and class mentioned the Campbell. We took it at her word and made a reservation. Spent all day at the Woodford Reserve and Alltech Brewing taking tours and made it to the hotel by 6 pm on Sunday. The entire facade was destroyed with construction; had to guess at where to enter. My first thought and comment when entering was "Is this a flophouse?" Upon entering saw a young black guy walking down the hall eating something out of a styrofoam package. Guessed where to go for the main desk (after a walk down a dark long hallway) and made it to check in. CHecked in, went to the room on the first floor. I know they were renovating, but seriously, they should shut down because it is one of the most disappointing places I have stayed in 30 years. Loud A/c Unit, curtains that would not fully close, bathroom with only one sink and TINY. Please tell me why no room in these southern HOT states have refrigerators? It is located in what I would say is a less desirable place in Lexington, in a Rite-Aid parking lot. They skimped on hard towels, toiletries, and the pillows were not even standard size. No comforter, just a thin bedspread. This was a horrible experience. Spend an extra $40 and get a nice room close to nice restys. The resty/bar in the hotel was decent for drinks, but food choices are awful and the prices are high.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear ldordal,

Thank you for taking a moment to provide your honest remarks about your experience. I'm very sorry that we could not live up to your expectations nor the Lexington resident that provided you with a recommendation to stay with us.

The hotel is well overdue for a much needed renovation and the obvious construction is not the most welcoming sight for any guest that stays with us. I am happy to say that the construction on the main entrance of the hotel is almost complete and our new lobby, restaurant and 60 brand new rooms will be available.

I can't take back the experience you had, but I hope your give us a chance to create a better one down the road.

Thank you,

Justin H.
Director of Operations
859.519.1353
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed one night and our room was in definite need of an overhaul. Walls showed water damage and carpet gave off a moldy smell that I could smell all night. I'm sure after the renos are done, it'll be much
More suitable. The hotel itself had a very old classy look though, it gave me a cool vibe like the hotel in the shining.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Brandon,

Thanks for your honest remarks regarding your stay. The hotel is undergoing an extensive renovation that will be complete near the end of the year. We certainly plan on continuing to provide a "cool vibe" with some of our planned additions around the hotel.

I apologize for the the condition of your guestroom and I would like to invite you back when the renovations are complete. Feel free to contact me personally if you would like to discuss further.

Justin H.
Director of Operations
859.519.1353
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had holes in towels, water drained very slowly in tub. Décor is dated. Had gnats in our room. They are going through renovations right now so hopefully this will help with some issues they are having. All the websites have this at 3 1/2 stars which should not be the case. Positives would be a low but comfy bed, a good size flat screen, free newspapers and a decent experience at Bogarts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear dnice1979timrick,

Thank you for comments. I apologize for the issues that you experienced in your guest room. These deficiencies should have been easily identified by our staff prior to your arrival. As you noticed, we are going through a comprehensive renovation of the hotel and we look forward to sharing it with the public soon. Once again, thanks for your review and feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss further.

Best,

Justin H.
Director of Operations
859.519.1353
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I needed a weekend away at the last minute and found this hotel to stay at. We wished we had selected something else. It's being re-done but is very much lacking for a relaxing weekend away. The room we stayed in although clean, had holes in the towels, the ceiling had a lot of damage and the room itself was very very drab and outdated. The view out the window was all roof. Literally NOTHING to look at. Our room was still not cleaned by 4:30 on Saturday when we got back to rest and change for dinner. With our room being so drab I was hoping to go somewhere else in the hotel to read, but really...there was no place that felt cozy or nice to just go hang out in. The bed was comfortable...I will say that. If all you need is a comfortable bed then this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campbell Ho... L, Guest Relations Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear KimGuze,

Thank you for taking a moment to provide feedback regarding your stay. I sincerely apologize that we could not provide the relaxing weekend that you had hoped for. I've forwarded your comments to the appropriate department heads for immediate follow-up.

The major renovations on the lobby and restaurant will be completed late July. We will also have a good portion of our guestrooms completed around that time as well. We are very excited about the brand new product and I hope that you choose us again in the future. Please feel free to contact me personally if you would like to discuss further.

Thank you,

Justin H.
Director of Operations
859.519.1353
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed here with my husband and two teens while we visited their sibling who's a UK student. While the hotel definitely needs sprucing up, they are in the process of doing this. Any areas of concern that might have bothered us - such as a need for new carpet and some paint in areas - are being addressed. That said, the room we had was in the back of the hotel, facing the golf course, so it was very quiet. I would definitely request this location again. The room was large enough to not only have our two queen size beds, but we were able to put in a roll away - at no cost - across from the bathroom, by the closet, and we still had plenty of room to walk by the bed to get into the full size closet and the bathroom. That speaks volumes as to the size because I've tried this configuration in many other Lexington hotels and almost killed myself trying to get into and out of the bathroom or door to the room! The room was spotless, and the front staff was extremely helpful and friendly.The beds were really comfortable; even the roll away was one of the best we've used. We used the free shuttle service to Keeneland, and it was more than convenient. They really worked hard to meet our needs. The pool area was very large, and it has a "Greek pool" feel to it with columns and plenty of seating. The bar had live music while we were there, but we did not go in. Similarly, we were feeding 7 for Easter brunch, so we opted out of the $30+ Easter buffet, and I cooked at my daughter's apartment. Despite the construction, we really liked the feel of the place and the little architectural touches, such as the beveled glass in the door and the tin ceiling in the elevator. I can't wait to see this place when it's all spruced up! We used one of those "blind choice" reservation sites, so we got an excellent price for this hotel, and we were more than happy with what we got for that price. It is so convenient to UK! We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the back of the hotel facing the golf course for quiet. Parking is also very con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great place to stay; rooms are nice and convenient to everything. The restaurant & lounge is excellent food and service was great! They also have a shuttle if transportation is needed.
The traditional place to stay and not far from Keeneland or Rupp Arena.

Room Tip: Stayed on ground level floor with parking just outside the one of the entrance doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#9 of 69 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
9.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Lexington Keeneland / Airport
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campbell House

Address: 1375 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a small two-story building in 1949, the Campbell House is Lexington's most recognized and cherished hotel. Our recent multi-million dollar renovation has transformed this local jewel into one of the finest hotels in the Kentucky. Featuring 250 guest rooms and suites and over 15,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate everything from board meetings to conventions, the Campbell House is the perfect location for groups, meetings and social events. We are centrally located near various tourist attractions such as: The University of Kentucky, Keeneland Race Track, Rupp Arena & Commonwealth Stadium - Home of the Kentucky Wildcats, Tattersalls, Redmile, The Lexington Convention Center and Calumet Farm. Whether you are seeking a personalized experience for you next business trip, and inspirational setting for your next meeting, an unforgettable wedding, the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway, or an unforgettable vacation, your adventure into a world of beauty, luxury and tranquility awaits you at the Campbell House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lexington
Crowne Plaza Campbell Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Campbell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.