We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cobb Salad, not so good atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saul Good Restaurant & Pub

Saul Good Restaurant & Pub
3801 Nicholasville Rd, Lexington, KY 40503
+1 859-273-4663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 721 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: "From scratch" kitchen serves up farm fresh salads, delicious warm sandwiches, gourmet burgers, hand tossed pizzas and features a signature chocolate bar.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Cobb Salad, not so good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had an excellent Cobb salad here during a late lunch. Great service from young, professional waiters, good choice of beers. However, the high noise level, primarily from a far-too-loud audio system, would have been much too great had the room been full, rather than only half so. Coupled with the fairly dark room, the atmosphere is more singles bar than dining room. Even at lunch, the crowd seemed to be predominately the under-30 crowd, including college kids.

For quieter dining, there are a few tables outside where there is no loudspeaker.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    85
    33
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Great White North
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Gourmet Pub/Bistro, Excellent for What It Does, GO!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Visiting from out of town, we went to the Fayette Mall location of Saul Good, the name a terrible pun but very accurate comment on what we found. #1 - NICE people. #2 - fun environment, from the umbrella-table cafe seating outside to the simple but inviting interior. #3 - really prompt, friendly, un-intrusive, quick, helpful service. #4 - good menu of Appetizers, Big Plates, Burgers and Sandwiches, Salads, Pizzas, interesting SPECIALS and Desserts largely from the Chocolate Bar, + a hearty breakfast item served when they are open, which is from 11:30 til 9 or later. #5 - most important, very tasty, well prepared food. So, it "s--ALL GOOD ....." ..... at 'Saul Good.'

Unfortunately, we were at the end of a long day, week, month, year, and decade, so we were not candidates for serious eating. Wish we had been, but no room for the tempting extras and heartier items. We enjoyed the Asian Crunch Salad and the Szechwan Steak Sandwich. But how I lusted for one of the pizzas (or two) or the fish Big Plate, which looked incredible, a burger (as countless were paraded past us to other tables), and appetizers and desserts were never a serious player for us, wish they could have been.

Next time we're in Lexington we'll definitely go to Saul Good, it's just right for what we like in a go-anytime, everyday restaurant.

On leaving we saw a couple and their two French Poodles just finishing their meal in the by-now dark outdoor area. With the well behaved dogs, it was a scene right out of Paris, so I had to say hello. If you are uptight and can't stomach the idea of 'filthy animals' being around where your food is being consumed, then you would not be a fan of this. If like me, and millions of others, your dogs are some of your very best and closest friends, everybody being able to dine out, together, en famile, is just another pleasant aspect of the Saul Good experience. The friendly couple, Carson, and their other dog, all could not have been happier and nicer to chat with, their visit to Saul Good being a contributor for sure.

We're so glad we went to Saul Good last night, and know that if you go, all preceding caveats and notifications having been taken into account, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good BBQ sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped here on the recommendation of a local shop owner. There is plenty of parking, at least for lunch, including room for RV's. We ordered the BBQ Pork sandwich. It comes with some amazing fries. The prices are reasonable, about $10, for the average lunch in 2013. The service was great. Our drinks were refilled by two different staff when they noticed the empty glass.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great Gluten Free crust pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

So glad to see gluten free pizza crust on the menu. I had Rosemary chicken pizza and I ate every bite. If you have a group of 6-8, ask for one of the oversized corner booths. Great service. Hope to return again soon and try the fish tacos.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eating here is a must if you visit Lexington!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The food and service can't be beat.....Everything I had was delicious....I would definitely eat here again

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saul Good Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Saul Good Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saul Good Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.