We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Indian food ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj India Indian Restaurant

Taj India Indian Restaurant
154 Patchen Drive, Suite 68, Lexington, KY 40517-4418
859 268 0055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 749 restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Indian Restaurant, Indian Buffert, Family Restaurant, Seven Days Serves.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best Indian food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I live in Cleveland and was on vacation when I had the pleasure of eating at Taj India, in Lexington. The food is unbelievably good due to combination of spices, good preparation and above all, a fantastic cook. I have never been to an Indian restaurant that could offer so much at such reasonable pricing. It could almost justify it for me to make the 400 mile trip just to have dinner at Taj India. I recommend this restaurant to anyone with a taste for quality food. Great food and great atmosphere and excellent service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    96
    28
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quite disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Quite disappointed with what we ordered and what they provided, Baingen Bertha was from frozen ready to eat food. Moolly paratha was made with onion and aloo... There was no moolly ....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great dinner for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Food and service were very good. We had the vegetarian dinner for two. Sauces were excellent complements to the fare. While the exterior is neatly don't, the building's interior is a bit run down. The space seems too large. I would recommend the food and friendly hosts at a five. The furnishings bring my scoring down to a four rating.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
“it's cheap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Like Andrew S we weren't so impressed as the other reviewers here. The pluses: it is cheap and they are accommodating and nice. As far as the food, I suppose it could work well for those who never have had Indian food before as an introduction (the food won't be too scary), but it isn't that nice. But, if you understand this it should be fine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Indian in Lexington!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I go to Taj frequently and have never had a single bad experience. The food (and chai!) is fantastic, everyone is very nice and it's all consistent. Definitely my favorite place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj India Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Taj India Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj India Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.