We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Cemetery

Lexington Cemetery
833 West Main Street, Lexington, KY 40508
859-255-5522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 129 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1824, this is considered one of America's most beautifully landscaped cemeteries.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a beautiful setting for a cemetery but we agree with others, without a map, you would wander for days. We spent about 20 minutes just driving through and admiring the pristine, park like setting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    33
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Again Trip advisor comes thru!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited in early April, perhaps a bit too early to experience the full effect of spring in bloom. I agree with others, a map of the historical remains would be very helpful. As it was we simply drove thru as best we could. Hope to visit again when the weather is nicer and we can explore all day!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The stories about the trees are all true but I wish we could have been there a few weeks later. I wanted to see the Todd graves and they were a bit hard to find as the names were well worn. A map showing the historical markers would have been helpful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A real jewel of history and beauty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We did not know what to expect when visiting Lexington Cemetery. We had done some research as to who was buried there and some of the most notable people of influence who were here. One of the main stories that intrigued me was of King Solomon and I was very interested in his grave after reading the story of him. Another grace which piqued my curiosity was Henry Clay who had a failed run at being President of the US and the cousin of Cassius Clay the emancipationist and state representative.

At the front gates they have a beautiful little office building which one can utilize to find any grave they want and also sells books and offers free pamphlets highlighting some points of interest and a walking tour of the cemetery.

Using the information we had gained from the front desk we set out to find what we had come for and even a few extra which we had learned from the office staff. We found all the grave sites we were looking for except for one grave the name of who escapes me now.

The walk was beautiful and you never had to walk to far to find a grave of interest even though the cemetery itself is huge.

We also found some other people who tour cemeteries taking photos and taking in the history which was very nice and we were able to share what we had seen.

Overall, the experience was beautiful and every respect was adhered to by the staff and visitors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is an absolutely gorgeous, historic cemetery with is the final resting place of over 31,000 people. Many famous people are buried here, including former U.S. Vice President John C. Breckinridge, former U.S. Senator Henry Clay, Confederate General John Hunt Morgan (the "Lighting Bolt of the South"), former University of Kentucky Basketball Coach Adolph Rupp, and actor/comedian Jim Varney. The grounds are quiet and serene, and ducks swim in quaint little ponds. If you have children, buy a loaf of bread so you can feed the ducks. Several people bring sack lunches and enjoy picnics.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lexington Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Lexington Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lexington Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.