We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living or Dead the place to visit ;-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Cemetery

Lexington Cemetery
833 West Main Street, Lexington, KY 40508
859-255-5522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 49 Attractions in Lexington
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1824, this is considered one of America's most beautifully landscaped cemeteries.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Living or Dead the place to visit ;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

From Old stones to the New, trees, flowers and the view. A calm serene place and a must place to visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    30
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Historic site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Historic old cemetery with unique monuments and beautifully maintained grounds. Especially pretty when dogwood trees are in bloom in the spring.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawsville,MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The landscaping in this cemetery is breathtaking! Tree lined drives, ponds, various colorful shrubs and bushes . A cypress tree in one of the ponds, ducks n geese on each.
AND, keep in mind I was overwhelmed in November!!!! A day before Thanksgiving!!!! The trees were BARE!!! But variety n shapes of trunks n limbs made me rush home n put it on my bucket list for both a Spring AND a Fall visit (from Maryland). I can't WAIT to see this beauty all decked out in foliage!!!,

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beauty and stillness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a beautiful spot to visit, especially in the spring and fall. The flowers are gorgeous in the spring and fall colors also make it special. There are so many large old trees here too--I can't help but wonder what stories they could tell. I sometimes walk here alone and other times I take my leashed dog. I always feel a sense of calm and peace when I am here. It is one of Lexington's gems.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nice place to reflect. The grounds are well taken care of by the staff. No one seems to be in a rush and are very respectful of their surroundings.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lexington Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Lexington Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lexington Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.